### NATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR HEALTH AND CLINICAL EXCELLENCE

# **Diagnostics Advisory Committee (DAC)**

### Minutes of the Meeting on Wednesday 6 June 2012

Level 1A City Tower, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4BD

# SonoVue(r) (sulphur hexafluoride microbubbles)

#### PRESENT:

### **Standing Committee members:**

Professor Adrian Newland (Chairman)

Professor Chris Hyde

Mr Christopher Wiltsher

Professor Ian A Cree

Ms Margaret Ogden

Dr Mark Kroese

Mr Paul Weinberger

Mr Stuart Saw

Dr Sue Crawford

Dr Trevor Cole

# **Standing Committee members apologies:**

Dr Diego Ossa

Professor Dietrich Mack

Professor Erika Denton

Professor Lisa Hall

Professor Mark Sculpher

Professor Noor Kalsheker

Dr Paul Collinson

Dr Ron Akehurst

Dr Simon Fleming

Dr Sue Crawford

Dr Steve Thomas

# **Specialist Committee members:**

Ms Gail Coster

Mrs Jane Smith

Dr Kofi Oppong

Dr Timothy Hoare

## **Specialist Committee members apologies:**

Mr Richard Hall

#### In attendance:

# **Diagnostic Assessment Programme staff:**

Nick Crabb, Associate Director, Diagnostics Programme, NICE
Hanan Bell, Technical Adviser, Diagnostics Programme, NICE
Mirella Marlow, Programme Director – Devices and Diagnostics Systems, NICE
Gurleen Jhuti, Technical Analyst, Diagnostics Programme, NICE
Frances Nixon, Technical Analyst, Diagnostics Programme, NICE
Sarah Baggaley, Technical Analyst, Diagnostics Programme, NICE
Jackson Lynn, Project Manager, Diagnostics Programme, NICE
Bushra Hussain, Administrator, Diagnostics Programme, NICE

# **External Assessment Group representative – Kleijnen Systematic Reviews Ltd:**

Janneke Grutters

### Observing:

Chris Pomfrett, Technical Adviser, Medical Technologies Evaluation Programme, NICE Denise Woods, Senior Implementation Adviser, NICE Gary Shield, Senior Costing Analyst, Costing and Commissioning Implementation, NICE Laura Norburn, Project Manager, Patient and Public Involvement, NICE

PART 1 AND PART 2 (open and closed parts of the meeting). 10.30am – Part 1 open session commenced.

### 1. Introduction to the meeting

The Chair welcomed Committee members and observers.

The Chair welcomed the representative from Bracco, Manufacturer to the meeting.

The Chair informed all attendees that Professor Dietrich Mack is no longer part of the Diagnostics Advisory Committee due to a change in job role.

Apologies were noted.

### 2. Any other business

No other business was offered.

### 3. Conflicts of interest

The Chairman requested any conflicts of interest to be stated. Mrs Jane Smith and Dr Kofi Oppong declared their conflicts; this did not mean they were unable to participate in the meeting.

### Part 1 - Open session

### SonoVue(r) (sulphur hexafluoride microbubbles)

The Chair introduced Technical Analyst, Gurleen Jhuti, to discuss with the committee the Consideration of public consultation comments on SonoVue(r) (sulphur hexafluoride microbubbles).

The Chair asked the Committee to consider any Equality issues in relation to these technologies.

The Chair asked the representatives of the manufacturers to comment on any matters of factual accuracy.

There was one public member who attended this meeting.

The Chair then thanked the manufacturer representatives for their attendance, participation and contribution to the Assessment and they left the meeting.

#### Part 2 - closed session

Agreement on the content of the Diagnostic Guidance Document (DGD) was discussed by the committee.

## Date, time and venue of next Diagnostic Assessment Programme meeting:

**Wednesday 4 July 2012**, at National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence, Level 1A, City Tower, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4BD