

Diagnostics Advisory Committee (DAC)

Minutes of the Meeting on Wednesday 2 May 2012

Level 1A City Tower, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4BD

Depth of anaesthesia monitoring (E-Entropy, Bispectral Index and Narcotrend)

PRESENT:

Standing Committee members:

Professor Adrian Newland (Chairman)

Mr Christopher Wiltsher

Dr Diego Ossa

Professor Erika Denton

Professor Ian A Cree

Dr Mark Kroese

Professor Noor Kalsheker

Mr Paul Weinberger

Dr Paul Collinson

Dr Simon Fleming

Mr Stuart Saw

Dr Sue Crawford

Dr Trevor Cole

Standing Committee members apologies:

Professor Chris Hyde

Professor Dietrich Mack

Professor Lisa Hall

Ms Margaret Ogden

Dr Steve Thomas

Dr Richard Nicholas

Professor Ron Akehurst (conflicted)

Specialist Committee members:

Dr Andrew Fish

Mr David Smith

Dr John Andrzejowski

Mr John Hitchman

Prof Michael Wang

Specialist Committee members apologies:

Prof Anthony Fisher

In attendance:

Diagnostic Assessment Programme staff:

Nick Crabb, Associate Director, Diagnostics Programme, NICE Hanan Bell, Technical Adviser, Diagnostics Programme, NICE Mirella Marlow, Programme Director – Devices and Diagnostics Systems, NICE

NICE
Sarah Baggaley, Technical Analyst, Diagnostics Programme, NICE
Farouk Saeed, Technical Analyst, Diagnostics Programme, NICE
Frances Nixon, Technical Analyst, Diagnostics Programme, NICE
Jackson Lynn, Project Manager, Diagnostics Programme, NICE
Bushra Hussain, Administrator, Diagnostics Programme, NICE
David Lyons, Temporary Administrative Support, Diagnostics Programme, NICE

External Assessment Group representatives – Southampton Health Technology Assessments Centre (SHTAC):

Jeremy Jones
Jonathan Shepherd

Observing:

Alexa Biesty, Implementation, NICE
Chris Pomfrett, Technical Adviser, Medical Technologies Evaluation
Programme, NICE
Erik Koffjberg, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands
Laura Norburn, Project Manager, Patient and Public Involvement, NICE
Sally Doss, Technical Adviser, Medical Technologies Evaluation Programme,
NICE

PART 1 AND PART 2 (open and closed parts of the meeting). 10.30am – Part 1 open session commenced.

1. Introduction to the meeting

The Chair welcomed Committee members and observers.

The Chair welcomed the representatives from Covidien, GE Healthcare, and Narcotrend (Manufacturers) to the meeting.

Apologies were noted

2. Any other business

No other business was offered.

3. Conflicts of interest

The Chairman requested any conflicts of interest to be stated.

Ron Akehurst declared conflicts and did not participate in the meeting.

Anthony Fisher declared conflicts, none of which meant Anthony was unable to participate in the meeting.

John Andrzejowski declared conflicts, none of which meant John was unable to participate in the meeting.

Michael Wang declared conflicts, none of which meant Michael was unable to participate in the meeting.

Part 1 – Open session

Depth of anaesthesia monitoring (E-Entropy, Bispectral Index and Narcotrend)

The Chair introduced presentations from the Lead Team members:

- Mr David Smith Specialist Committee Member
- Dr Simon Fleming Standing Committee Member

The Committee proceeded to discuss the clinical effectiveness and cost effectiveness of **Depth of anaesthesia monitoring (E-Entropy, Bispectral Index and Narcotrend)**

The Chair asked the Committee to consider any Equality issues in relation to these technologies.

The Chair asked the representatives of the manufacturer to comment on any matters of factual accuracy.

There were no public attending this meeting.

The Chair then thanked the manufacturer representative for their attendance, participation and contribution to the Assessment and they left the meeting.

Part 2 - closed session

The Committee instructed the technical team to prepare the Diagnostics Consultation Document (DCD) in line with their decisions.

The Committee was asked if there were any specific Equalities to consider in relation to these technologies.

Date, time and venue of next Diagnostic Assessment Programme meeting:

10:00am, Wednesday 6 June 2012, at National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence, Level 1A, City Tower, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4BD