Committee membership list – Depression in adults Guideline Committee



Membership of Depression in adults Guideline Committee

The Committee will operate as an advisory Committee to NICE's Board, developing a guideline on Depression in adults: treatment and management

The terms of reference and standing orders for the Committee can be found in appendix D of Developing NICE guidelines: the manual.

The Committee has 17 members.

Committee membership list – Depression in adults Guideline Committee

Membership list

| Agreed Constituency | Name | Job Title, Organisation | Comment | |
|------------------------|-----------------------------|--|---------|--|
| Chair | | | | |
| | Prof Navneet Kapur | Professor of Psychiatry and Population Health, University of Manchester and Honorary Consultant in Psychiatry, Greater Manchester Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust | | |
| Members | | | | |
| GP | Prof Carolyn Chew-Graham | Professor of General Practice Research, Keele University Honorary Professor of Primary Care, University of Manchester Honorary Professor of Primary Care Mental Health, South Staffs & Shropshire Foundation Trust | | |
| | | (SSSFT) Principal in General Practice, NHS Manchester | | |
| | | Honorary Consultant in | | |

| | | Primary Care, NHS Manchester | |
|-------------------|------------------|---|--|
| Counsellor | Jeremy Clarke | Clinical Director, Albany Trust | |
| | | Tutor, Anna Freud National Centre for Children and Families | |
| | | Senior Accredited DIT Supervisor, Southwark IAPT; City & Hackney Psychological Therapies Service, East London NHS Foundation Trust | |
| | | Consultant mental health adviser, Greater Manchester Combined Authority | |
| | | Research Associate, Centre for Humanities Engaging Science and Society, University of Durham & Centre for the Philosophy of Natural and Social Science, LSE | |
| Psychiatric Nurse | Prof David Ekers | Nurse Consultant /Senior Visiting Research Fellow, Tees Esk & Wear Valleys NHS Trust/University of York (Mental | |

| | | Health and Addictions Research Group) | |
|--------------|-------------------------------------|--|-----------------------------|
| Psychiatrist | Dr Satheesh Kumar Gangadharan | Consultant Psychiatrist, Learning Disability, Leicestershire NHS Partnership Trust | Appointed September 2020 |
| | | Honorary Professor, College of Life Sciences, University of Leicester | |
| | | Co-director of Leicester Centre for Mental Health Research | |
| Commissioner | Dr Tarun Gupta | Clinical Lead, Mental Health Transformation and Evaluation, Birmingham and Solihull CCG | Appointed September 2020 |
| | | GP, Northbrook Group Practice and London Central and West Unscheduled Care Collaborative | |
| Primary Care | Prof Tony Kendrick | Professor of Primary Care, University of Southampton | |
| | | GP Stoneham Lane Surgery, Southampton | |
| Psychologist | Professor Peter Kinderman | Professor of Clinical | Appointed September 2020 |

| | | Psychology, University of Liverpool Honorary Consultant Clinical Psychologist, Mersey Care NHS Trust | |
|--|-------------------|---|-----------------------------|
| Psychiatrist | Dr Neil Nixon | Associate Professor in Psychiatry, University of Nottingham, School of Medicine Honorary Consultant in General Adult Psychiatry, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust | |
| Lay member | Louise O'Connor | Lay member | |
| Lay member | Catherine Rouane | Lay member | |
| Lay member | Prishah Shah | Lay member | |
| NHS Service Manager and Commissioner | Jennifer Speller | Deputy Director Primary Care, Mid and South East Essex Health and Care Partnership | |
| Counsellor | Toby Sweet | Chief Executive Sunderland Counselling Service | Appointed September 2020 |
| Pharmacist | Prof David Taylor | Director of Pharmacy and Pathology, South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust | |

| | | Professor of Pharmacology, King's College London | |
|--|------------------------|---|-------------------------|
| Psychologist | Prof Ed Watkins | Professor of Experimental and Applied Clinical Psychology | |
| | | Chartered Clinical Psychologist | |
| | | Director of Sir Henry Wellcome Building for Mood Disorders Research | |
| | | Director of Research for DClinPsy Programme | |
| | | Director of SMART Lab | |
| Psychiatrist / Old Age Specialist | Dr Philip Wilkinson | Consultant in Psychiatry of Old Age, Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust and Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer, University of Oxford | |
| Previous members | | | |
| Commissioner/ Social care practitioner | Sinead Dervin | Commissioning Manager, Mental Health, NHS England | Resigned in Dec 2018 |
| Psychiatry | Prof Simon Gilbody | Professor of Psychological Medicine and Health Services Research; University of York | Resigned in Feb 2019 |
| Psychology | Dr June Brown | Senior Lecturer | Resigned August |

Committee membership list – Depression in adults Guideline Committee

| | | in Clinical Psychology, Institute of Psychiatry (IoP), Kings College London | 2019 |
|------------|------------------|---|-------------------------|
| Counsellor | Dr David Hewison | Head of Research; Consultant to 'Couple Therapy for Depression' Training, Tavistock Relationships | Resigned in May 2020 |
| | | Programme Leader & Supervisor, Professional Doctorate in Couple Psychotherapy, TCCR/UEL | |

Date last reviewed: 25/04/2022