Excellent examples of how NICE guidance and standards have been put into practice in the NHS, local authorities, voluntary sector and a range of other organisations in the UK.

Our Shared Learning Awards give you an opportunity to pass on your knowledge and expertise of implementing NICE guidance.

Each year we pick a selection of shared learning examples from around the UK that deserve special recognition. The awards are presented at the NICE Conference.

If your example is shortlisted you'll receive:

  • free conference tickets
  • a national platform to present their work to peers
  • the chance to win the top prize, as voted on by conference delegates.

And even if you don't get shortlisted, your example will still be published on our website and linked to the guidance.

David Haslam

The Shared Learning Awards are such an important aspect of our work. For everyone who works for and with NICE it is great to see the impact that our work has on real people.

Professor David Haslam, Chair of NICE

Submit your example

We are now accepting submissions for consideration in the 2020 Shared Learning Awards. The deadline for submission entries for the 2020 Shared Learning Awards will be 5pm on Wednesday 4 March 2020.

Submit your example early to be considered.

Tell us about any problems you faced, how you dealt with them and what others can learn from your experiences. We're particularly interested in examples that demonstrate:

  • integration of health and care services
  • how you have used NICE guidance to transform how services are organised and delivered
  • using NICE’s guidance on social care topics.

Submit a shared learning example

What the winners say

2019 winner, Pancreatic Cancer UK and University Hospitals Birmingham

Anna Jewell – Head of Support and Information, Pancreatic Cancer UK recieving her award from NICE Chair David Haslam

It feels absolutely fantastic to have won this Shared Learning Award. We feel this work and this project could really drive improvements for pancreatic cancer. It’s exciting, it feels like this is recognition of what a crucial piece of work this is and how important it could be in improving care.

2019 winner Anna Jewell – Head of Support and Information, Pancreatic Cancer UK

2018 winner, East Berkshire CCG and Oxford Academic Health Science Network


Regardless of their role, everyone can play a part in implementing NICE guidelines to improve safety and quality of care for older people.

2018 winner Sundus Jawad - Prescribing and Care Homes Support Pharmacist, East Berkshire CCG

2017 winner, Mansfield District Council

photo of team from Mansfield District Council

Being recognised by healthcare professionals is a real privilege and makes our contribution to improving patient care even more rewarding, we encourage innovative projects to submit to NICE so that we can share knowledge and best practice.

2017 winner Hayley Barsby – Interim Chief Executive Officer, Mansfield District Council

2016 winner, Dr Emma Greig

photo of Emma Greig

Since our shared learning example was published we have been contacted by many centres from around the UK, allowing us to share our project and learn from others. We are delighted to win the NICE Shared Learning Award in 2016.

2016 winner Dr Emma Greig – Consultant Gastroenterologist, Somerset Gastroenterology Flexible Healthcare Team.

Find out more about previous winners and finalists

View shared learning examples