Appendix A: The Guideline Development Group, National Clinical Guideline Centre and NICE project team

Guideline Development Group (2012, partial update)

Dr Amanda Freeman
Consultant Paediatrician, Department of Paediatrics, Queen Alexandra Hospital, Portsmouth

Mrs Diane Flower
Lead Children's Epilepsy Specialist Nurse, Royal Gwent Hospital, Newport, South Wales, and Children's Epilepsy Specialist Nurse, Bristol Royal Hospital for Children, Bristol

Dr Greg Rogers
GP and GP with a Special Interest (GPwSI) in Epilepsy, Eastern and Coastal Kent PCT

Professor Helen Cross (Clinical Advisor)
The Prince of Wales's Chair of Childhood Epilepsy, UCL Institute of Child Health, Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children & National Centre for Young People with Epilepsy. Head of Neurosciences Unit, UCL Institute of Child Health, London

Professor Ian Chi Kei Wong (from March 2010)
Director and Professor of Paediatric Medicines Research, Centre for Paediatric Pharmacy Research, The School of Pharmacy, The University of London, UCL Institute of Child Health, Great Ormond Street Hospital NHS Trust for Children, London (until August 2011). Department of Pharmacology and Pharmacy, Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine, University of Hong Kong

Professor John Duncan
Professor of Neurology, Department of Clinical and Experimental Epilepsy, UCL Institute of Neurology, London. Consultant Neurologist, National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery. Medical Director, The Epilepsy Society

Dr Margaret Jackson
Consultant Neurologist, Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust

Mr Michael Harnor
Patient member

Dr Nick Kosky (Chair)
Consultant Psychiatrist, Prison Mental Health Inreach Team and Medical Director, Dorset Community Health Services, NHS Dorset

Dr Richard Appleton
Consultant Paediatric Neurologist, The Roald Dahl EEG Department, Paediatric Neurosciences Foundation, Alder Hey Children's NHS Foundation Trust, Liverpool

Mrs Sally Gomersall
Patient member

Mr Sean Mackey
Independent pharmacist consultant (until March 2010)

Mrs Tracey Truscott
Adult Epilepsy Nurse Specialist and Head of Epilepsy Nursing Service, NHS Eastern and Coastal Kent Community Services

Guideline Development Group (2004)

Dr Amanda Freeman
Consultant Paediatrician, St Mary's Hospital, Portsmouth

Ms Bernie Concannon
Clinical Nurse Specialist Paediatric Epilepsy, Birmingham Children's Hospital

Dr Helen Cross
Senior Lecturer and Honorary Consultant in Paediatric Neurology, Institute of Child Health and Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children, London

Dr Henry Smithson (Guideline Development Group Lead)
GP, York

Mr Ian Costello
Chief Pharmacist, Centre for Paediatric Research, School of Pharmacy, London

Ms Jane Hanna
Patient representative, Wantage

Professor John Duncan
Professor of Neurology, The National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery, London

Ms Kathy Bairstow
Patient representative, Leeds

Dr Peter Humphrey
Consultant Neurologist, The Walton Centre for Neurology and Neurosurgery, Liverpool

Mr Peter Rogan
Patient representative, Ormskirk

Ms Sally Gomersall
Patient representative, Newark

Dr Tanzeem Raza
Consultant Physician, Royal Bournemouth Hospital

Mr William Harkness
Consultant Neurological Surgeon, Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children, London

Guideline Development Group co-opted experts

For this guideline, the Guideline Development Group was assisted by a number of co-opted experts, who were chosen because of their knowledge in a particular area.

2012 Guideline (partial update)

Dr Aza JJ Abdulla
Consultant Physician and Geriatrician, Department of Elderly Medicine, South London Healthcare NHS Trust and Princess Royal University Hospital, Kent

Professor Frank Besag
Consultant Neuropsychiatrist, Children's Learning Disability Service Twinwoods Health Resource Centre, Bedford

Dr Michael Marsh
Consultant in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, King's College Hospital, London

2004 Guideline

Mr Andrew Green
Occupational Therapist, Frenchay Hospital, Bristol

Dr Andrew Lloyd Evans
Consultant Paediatrician, Royal Free Hospital, London

Dr David Finnigan
GP, Sowerby Centre for Health Informatics, University of Newcastle

Dr David McCormick
Consultant Paediatrician, East Kent Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Frank Besag
Consultant Psychiatrist, Bedfordshire and Luton Community NHS Trust and Visiting Professor of Neuropsychiatry, University of Luton

Dr Gillian Penney
Senior Lecturer, Scottish Programme for Clinical Effectiveness in Reproductive Health, University of Aberdeen

Professor Gus Baker
Professor of Neuropsychology, University of Liverpool

Mr James Oates
Epilepsy Liaison Nurse (Adult), Hull Royal Infirmary

Dr Jo Jarosz
Consultant Neuroradiologist, King's College Hospital, London

Ms Linda Perry
Director of Medical Services, National Centre for Young People with Epilepsy, Lingfield, Surrey

Mr Martin Shalley
Consultant in A&E Medicine, Birmingham Heartlands Hospital

Professor Raymond Tallis
Professor of Geriatric Medicine, University of Manchester

Professor Shoumitro Deb
Professor of Neuropsychiatry and Intellectual Disability, University of Birmingham

National Clinical Guideline Centre

Mr Carlos Sharpin
Senior Information Scientist and Research Fellow

Dr Grammati Sarri
Senior Research Fellow

Dr Jennifer Hill
Guidelines Operations Director (until March 2011)

Ms Julie Neilson
Senior Research Fellow

Ms Laura Sawyer
Senior Health Economist

Ms Susan Latchem
Guidelines Operations Director (from April 2011)

Ms Vanessa Delgado Nunes
Senior Research Fellow and Project Manager

External peer reviewers

Dr Catrin Tudur-Smith
Senior Lecturer in Biostatistics, University of Liverpool and Statistical Editor Cochrane Epilepsy Group

Professor Tony Marson
Professor of Neurology, University of Liverpool and Coordinating Editor Cochrane Epilepsy Group

Dr GP Sinha
Consultant Paediatrician, Walsall Healthcare NHS Trust, Manor Hospital

NICE project team

Philip Alderson
Associate Director

Sarah Willett
Guideline Commissioning Manager (until August 2010)

Claire Turner
Guideline Commissioning Manager (from August 2010)

Anthony Gildea
Guideline Coordinator

Nichole Taske
Technical Lead

Stefanie Reken
Health Economist

Michelle Wallwin

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)