8 Diagnostics advisory committee members and NICE project team

8 Diagnostics advisory committee members and NICE project team

Diagnostic advisory committee

The diagnostics advisory committee is an independent committee consisting of 22 standing members and additional specialist members. A list of the committee members who participated in this assessment appears below.

Standing committee members

Dr Trevor Cole
Consultant Clinical Geneticist, Birmingham Women's Hospital Foundation Trust

Dr Paul O Collinson
Consultant Chemical Pathologist, St George's Hospital

Professor Ian Cree
Director of Efficacy and Mechanisms Programme, NIHR Evaluation, Trials and Studies Coordinating Centre

Dr Erika Denton
National Clinical Director for Imaging, Department of Health

Dr Simon Fleming
Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine, Royal Cornwall Hospital

Professor Elizabeth (Lisa) Hall
Professor of Analytical Biotechnology, Institute of Biotechnology, Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, University of Cambridge

Professor Chris Hyde
Professor of Public Health and Clinical Epidemiology, Peninsula College of Medicine and Dentistry

Professor Noor Kalsheker
Professor of Clinical Chemistry, Molecular Medical Sciences, University of Nottingham

Dr Mark Kroese
Consultant in Public Health Medicine, Peterborough Primary Care Trust and UK Genetic Testing Network

Professor Dietrich Mack
Professor of Medical Microbiology and Infectious Disease, School of Medicine, Swansea University

Professor Adrian Newland (Chair)
Consultant Haematologist, Barts and the London NHS Trust

Dr Richard Nicholas
Consultant Neurologist, Heatherwood and Wexham Park Hospital, Imperial Healthcare Trust

Ms Margaret Ogden
Lay member

Dr Diego Ossa
Global Head, Health Economic and Outcomes Research, Novartis Molecular Diagnostics

Mr Stuart Saw
Director of Finance and Procurement, Tower Hamlets PCT

Professor Mark Sculpher
Professor of Health Economics, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Dr Steve Thomas
Senior Lecturer and Consultant Radiologist, University of Sheffield

Mr Paul Weinberger
Managing Director, Diasolve Ltd

Mr Christopher Wiltsher
Lay member

Specialist committee members

Ms Anne Keatley-Clarke
Lay member

Mrs Susan Ruth Clarke
Consultant Radiographer, Mid Yorkshire NHS Trust

Dr Owen Miller
Consultant in Paediatric and Fetal Cardiology, Evelina Children's Hospital

Dr Simon Padley
Consultant Radiologist, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital and Royal Brompton Hospital

Dr Francesca Puglese
Consultant Radiologist, Barts and the London NHS Trust

Professor Carl Roobottom
Professor of Radiology, Peninsula College of Medicine and Dentistry

Dr Ramesh de Silva
Consultant Cardiologist, Bedford Hospital NHS Trust

Mr John Walsh
Lay member

NICE project team

Each diagnostics assessment is assigned to a team consisting of 1 technical analyst (who acts as the topic lead), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Farouk Saeed
Topic Lead

Hanan Bell
Technical Adviser

Jackson Lynn
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)