8 Sources of evidence considered by the committee

A. The assessment report for this appraisal was prepared by the University of Sheffield, School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR).

  • Simpson EL et al. Spinal cord stimulation for chronic pain of neuropathic or ischaemic origin, March 2008

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, assessment report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I and II were also invited to make written submissions and had the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I) Manufacturer/sponsor:

  • Boston Scientific UK & Ireland (Precision Implantable Pulse Generator [IPG] Model no. 1110)

  • Advanced Neuromodulation Systems, UK Ltd (Genesis IPG [3608], Genesis XP [3609], Genesis XP Dual [3644], Genesis G4, EON Rechargeable Neurostimulation System, Renew [3408 and 3416])

  • Medtronic Ltd (Synergy, Versitrel, Itrel 3, Restore Rechargeable Neurostimulation System)

II) Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain & Ireland

  • Association of British Neurologists

  • Back Care

  • British Association of Spinal Surgeons

  • British Heart Foundation

  • British Pain Society

  • Herpes Viruses Association & Shingles Support Society

  • Multiple Sclerosis Society

  • Pain Concern

  • Pain Relief Foundation

  • Pelvic Pain Support Network

  • National Refractory Angina Centre

  • Neuromodulation Society of the United Kingdom and Ireland

  • Physiotherapy Pain Association

  • Royal College of Anaesthetists

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Physicians – Cardiology Committee

  • Society of British Neurological Surgeons

  • Vascular Society

III) Other consultees

  • Barnsley PCT

  • Department of Health

  • Welsh Assembly Government

  • Guy's and St Thomas Foundation Trust

IV) Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal)

  • Association of British Healthcare Industries (ABHI)

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • NHS Quality Improvement Scotland

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient advocate nominations from the non-manufacturer/sponsor consultees and commentators. They participated in the appraisal committee discussions and provided evidence to inform the appraisal committee's deliberations. They gave their expert personal view on spinal cord stimulation for chronic pain of neuropathic or ischaemic origin by attending the initial committee discussion and/or providing written evidence to the committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Professor Turo Nurmikko, Professor of Pain Science, Division of Neurological Science, University of Liverpool, nominated by Association of British Neurologists – clinical specialist

  • Mr Eric Ballantyne, Consultant Neurosurgeon, NHS Tayside, nominated by NHS Quality Improvement Scotland – clinical specialist

  • Mr Paul Eldridge, Society of British Neurological Surgeons. Surgery – clinical specialist

  • Dr Diana E. Dickson, Consultant in Pain Medicine, Independent Practice, nominated by Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland – clinical specialist

  • Mrs Judy Birch, Volunteer Chief Executive, Pelvic Pain Support network, nominated by the Pelvic Pain Support Network – patient expert