Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members, and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are four Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Kathryn Abel Reader and Consultant Psychiatrist; and Director of Centre for Women's Mental Health, University of Manchester

Dr David Black Director of Public Health, Derbyshire County Primary Care Trust

Dr Daniele Bryden Consultant in Intensive Care Medicine and Anaesthesia, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr Andrew Burnett Director for Health Improvement and Medical Director, NHS Barnet, London

David Chandler Lay member

Dr Mary Cooke Lecturer, School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work, University of Manchester

Dr Chris Cooper GP, London

Professor Peter Crome Consultant Geriatrician and Professor of Geriatric Medicine, Keele University

Dr Christine Davey Research Adviser, North and East Yorkshire Alliance Research and Development Unit, York

Richard Devereaux-Phillips Public Affairs and Reimbursement Manager UK and Ireland, Medtronic

Professor Rachel A Elliott Lord Trent Professor of Medicines and Health, University of Nottingham

Dr Wasim Hanif Consultant Physician and Honorary Senior Lecturer, University Hospital Birmingham

Dr Alan Haycox Reader in Health Economics, University of Liverpool Management School

Professor Cathy Jackson Professor of Primary Care Medicine, University of St Andrews

Dr Peter Jackson Clinical Pharmacologist, University of Sheffield

Henry Marsh Consultant Neurosurgeon, St George's Hospital, London

Professor Gary McVeigh Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, Queens University Belfast and Consultant Physician, Belfast City Hospital

Dr Eugene Milne Deputy Regional Director of Public Health, North East Strategic Health Authority, Newcastle upon Tyne

Dr Neil Myers GP, Glasgow

Dr Richard Nakielny Consultant Radiologist, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Foundation Trust

Dr Danielle Preedy Lay member

Dr Martin Price Head of Outcomes Research, Janssen-Cilag

Ellen Rule Programme Director, NHS Bristol

Dr Peter Selby Consultant Physician, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Surinder Sethi Consultant in Public Health Medicine, North West Specialised Services Commissioning Team, Warrington

Professor Andrew Stevens Chair of Appraisal Committee C; Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

Dr John Stevens Lecturer in Bayesian Statistics in Health Economics, School of Health and Related Research, Sheffield

Dr Matt Stevenson Technical Director, School of Health and Related Research, University of Sheffield

Professor Paul Trueman Professor of Health Economics, Brunel University, London

Dr Judith Wardle Lay member

B NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Jennifer Priaulx Technical Lead

Joanne Holden Technical Adviser

Lori Farrar Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)