Appendix B: Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by BMJ Technology Assessment Group (BMJ-TAG):

  • Edwards SJ, Hamilton V, Nherera L et al. Rivaroxaban for the prevention of stroke and systemic embolism in people with atrial fibrillation: a single technology appraisal. BMJ-TAG, London (October 2011)

B The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, the ERG report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II and III had the opportunity to give their expert views. Organisations listed in I, II and III also have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I Manufacturer/sponsor:

  • Bayer HealthCare

II Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • Anticoagulation Europe (ACE)

  • Arrhythmia Alliance (AFA Affiliated)

  • Atrial Fibrillation Association (AFA)

  • British Association of Stroke Physicians

  • British Cardiovascular Society

  • British Heart Foundation

  • British Society for Haematology

  • Heart Rhythm UK

  • Primary Care Cardiovascular Society

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Pathologists

  • Royal College of Physicians

III Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • NHS Berkshire East

  • Welsh Government

IV Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • BMJ Technology Assessment Group (BMJ-TAG)

  • Boehringer Ingelheim

  • Bristol Myers-Squibb

  • Commissioning Support Appraisals Service

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Health Care Improvement Scotland

  • Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency

  • National Institute for Health Research Health Technology Assessment Programme

C The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient expert nominations from the non-manufacturer/sponsor consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on rivaroxaban by attending the initial Committee discussion and providing written evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Dr Rhona Maclean, Consultant Haematologist, nominated by Royal College of Pathologists – clinical specialist

  • Ms Fiona Sayers, Head of Nursing, Cardiology & Acute Service, nominated by Royal College of Nursing – clinical specialist

  • Professor John Potter, Professor of Ageing Stroke Medicine, nominated by Bayer HealthCare – clinical specialist

  • Ms Diane Eaton, nominated by Anticoagulation Europe – patient expert

  • Ms Joanne Jerrome, nominated by Atrial fibrillation Association – patient expert

D Representatives from the following manufacturer/sponsor attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • Bayer HealthCare

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)