7 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by Aberdeen HTA Group:

  • Cummins E, Fielding S, Cruickshank M et al. Ranibizumab for the treatment of choroidal neovascularisation associated with pathological myopia, August 2013

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope. Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II gave their expert views on ranibizumab by providing a written statement to the Committee. Organisations listed in I, II and III have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I. Manufacturer/sponsor:

  • Novartis

II. Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • Fight for Sight

  • Macular Society

  • Royal National Institute of Blind People (RNIB)

  • Royal College

  • Royal of Ophthalmologists

  • Royal of Pathologists

III. Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • Welsh Government

IV. Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • Commissioning Support Appraisals Service

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Healthcare Improvement Scotland

  • Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency

  • Cochrane Eyes and Vision Group

  • MRC Clinical Trials Unit

  • Aberdeen HTA Group

  • National Institute for Health Research Health Technology Assessment Programme

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient expert nominations from the consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on ranibizumab for treating choroidal neovascularisation associated with pathological myopia by providing oral or written evidence to the Committee.

  • Clare Bailey, Consultant Ophthalmologist, nominated by The Royal College of Ophthalmologists – clinical specialist (Clare was unable to attend the meeting but provided a clinical statement)

  • Sobha Sivaprasad, Consultant Ophthalmologist, nominated by the Royal National Institute of Blind People – clinical specialist

  • Clara Eaglen, Policy and Campaigns manager, nominated by the Royal National Institute of Blind People – patient expert

D. Representatives from the following manufacturer/sponsor attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • Novartis

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)