7 Appraisal Committee members, guideline representatives and NICE project team

Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3‑year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are 4 Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Jane Adam (Chair)
Consultant radiologist, Department of Diagnostic Radiology, St George's Hospital, London

Dr Graham Ash
Consultant in General Adult Psychiatry, Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Thanos Athanasiou
Professor of Cardiovascular Sciences and Cardiac Surgery, Imperial College London; Consultant Cardiothoracic Surgeon, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust

Dr Simon Bond
Senior Statistician, Cambridge Clinical Trials Unit

Dr Jeremy Braybrooke
Consultant Medical Oncologist, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Gerardine Bryant
GP, Swadlincote, Derbyshire

Professor Aileen Clarke
Professor of Public Health & Health Services Research, University of Warwick

Dr Andrew England
Senior Lecturer, Directorate of Radiography, University of Salford

Dr Brian Hawkins
Chief Pharmacist, Cwm Taf Health Board, South Wales

Dr Peter Heywood
Consultant Neurologist, Frenchay Hospital, Bristol

Dr Anne McCune
Consultant Hepatologist, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

Professor John McMurray
Professor of Medical Cardiology, University of Glasgow

Dr Alec Miners
Senior Lecturer in Health Economics, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Dr Mohit Misra
GP, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, London

Ms Sarah Parry
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Paediatric Pain Management, Bristol Royal Hospital for Children

Ms Pamela Rees
Lay member

Dr Ann Richardson
Lay member

Dr Paul Robinson
Medical Director, Merck Sharp & Dohme

Ms Ellen Rule
Director of Transformation and Service Redesign, Gloucestershire Clinical Commissioning Group

Dr Brian Shine
Consultant Chemical Pathologist, John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford

Dr Peter Sims
GP, Devon

Mr David Thomson
Lay member

Dr John Watkins
Clinical Senior Lecturer, Cardiff University; Consultant in Public Health Medicine, National Public Health Service Wales

Professor Olivia Wu
Professor of Health Technology Assessment, University of Glasgow

NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of 1 or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Helen Tucker and Mary Hughes
Technical Leads

Nicola Hay
Technical Adviser

Bijal Joshi
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)