8 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by Warwick Evidence:

  • Shyangdan D, Jacob R, Connock M et al. Empagliflozin combination therapy for treating type 2 diabetes:A Single Technology Appraisal. July 2014

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, the ERG report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II and III had the opportunity to give their expert views. Organisations listed in I, II and III also have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I. Company:

  • Boehringer Ingelheim

II. Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • Association of British Clinical Diabetologists

  • Black and Ethnic Minority Diabetes Association

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Pathologists

  • Royal College of Physicians

  • United Kingdom Clinical Pharmacy Association

III. Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • NHS England

  • Welsh Government

IV. Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • AstraZeneca

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Healthcare Improvement Scotland

  • Janssen

  • Merck Sharp and Dohme

  • Novo Nordisk

  • National Institute for Health Research Health Technology Assessment Programme

  • Warwick Evidence

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient expert nominations from the consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on empagliflozin by attending the initial Committee discussion and providing written evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Dr Peter Winocour, Consultant Diabetologist and Clinical Director, nominated by Association of British Clinical Diabetologists and Royal College of Physicians – clinical specialist

  • Dr T Sathyapalan, Reader/Honorary Consultant Diabetologist, nominated by Association of British Clinical Diabetologists and Royal College of Physicians ‑ clinical specialist

  • Aderonki Kuti, Chief Executive Officer, nominated by Black Ethnic Minority Diabetes Association

D. Representatives from the following company attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • Boehringer Ingelheim

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)