8 Appraisal committee members

The appraisal committee is a statutory committee whose members sit for 3 years. Two meetings are held per month and the majority of members attend one or the other. Declared interests may also exclude a member from individual technology appraisals. The committee are supplemented by technology specific experts.

Dr Jane Adam
Radiologist, St George's Hospital, London

Dr Sunil Angris
General Practitioner, Waterhouses Medical Practice

Professor David Barnett (Chair)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Professor Carol Black
Consultant Physician, Royal Free Hospital & UCL, London

Professor John Brazier
Health Economist, University of Sheffield

Professor Bruce Campbell
Consultant Surgeon, Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital

Professor Mike Campbell
Statistician, Institute of General Practice & Primary Care, Sheffield

Dr Karl Claxton
Health Economist, University of York

Professor Jack Dowie
Health Economist, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, London

Mr Chris Evennett
Chief Executive, Mid-Hampshire Primary Care Trust

Dr Paul Ewings
Statistician, Taunton & Somerset NHS Trust

Sally Gooch
Director of Nursing, Mid-Essex Hospital Services Trust

Liz Heyer
Chief Executive, Barnet & Chase Farm Hospitals NHS Trust

Ruth Lesirge
Lay Representative; Director, Mental Health Foundation

Dr George Levvy
Lay Representative; Chief Executive, Motor Neurone Disease Association

Dr Gill Morgan
CEO, North & East Devon Health Authority

Professor Miranda Mugford
Health Economist, University of East Anglia

Siân Richards
General Manager, Cardiff Local Health Group

Professor Philip Routledge
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Wales

Dr Rhiannon Rowsell
Pharmaceutical Physician, AstraZeneca UK Ltd

Dr Stephen Saltissi
Consultant Cardiologist, Royal Liverpool University Hospital

Professor Andrew Stevens
Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

Professor Ray Tallis
Consultant Physician, Hope Hospital, Salford

Professor Mary Watkins
Head of Institute of Health Studies, University of Plymouth

Dr Norman Waugh
Public Health Consultant, University of Southampton

Dr Trisha Greenhalgh
Director, Open Learning Unit, Primary Care and Population Sciences, University College London