4 The Guideline Development Group, National Collaborating Centre and NICE project team

4 The Guideline Development Group, National Collaborating Centre and NICE project team

4.1 Guideline Development Group

The Guideline Development Group members listed are those for the 2014 update. For the composition of the previous Guideline Development Group, see the full guideline.

Erika Baker
Senior Pharmacist, Cheshire and Merseyside Commissioning Support Unit

Ian Bernstein
Musculoskeletal Physician, Ealing Hospital NHS Trust Community Services, and GP, Gordon House Surgery, London

Fraser Birrell
Consultant Rheumatologist, Northumbria Healthcare NHS Trust, and Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer, University of Newcastle upon Tyne

Philip Conaghan (Chair)
Consultant Rheumatologist, Leeds Teaching Hospitals Trust, and Professor of Musculoskeletal Medicine, University of Leeds

Jo Cumming
Patient member

Mike Doherty
Head of Academic Rheumatology, University of Nottingham, and Honorary Consultant Rheumatologist, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Krysia Dziedzic
Arthritis Research UK Professor of Musculoskeletal Therapies, Research Institute of Primary Care and Health Sciences, Keele University, and NICE Fellow

Richard Frearson
Consultant Physician/Geriatrician, The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Peter Kay
Consultant Lower Limb Arthroplasty Surgeon and Associate Medical Director, Wrightington Hospital

Brian Lucas
Lead Nurse, Practice and Innovation, The Queen Elizabeth Hospital King's Lynn NHS Foundation Trust

Robert Middleton
Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon, Royal Bournemouth Hospital, and Director of Trauma, Poole Hospital

Mark Porcheret
Arthritis Research UK Senior Lecturer in General Practice, Research Institute of Primary Care & Health Sciences, Keele University

Elspeth Wise
GP, Encompass Healthcare, Tyne and Wear

Anthony Whiting
Patient member

Weiya Zhang
Reader, University of Nottingham

Co-opted experts

Jens Foell
GP and NIHR Clinical Lecturer, Centre for Primary Care and Public Health, Queen Mary University of London

Jonathan Spratt
Consultant Radiologist, County Durham and Darlington NHS

Kirsty Bancroft
Occupational Therapist, Hand Therapy Unit, Poole Hospital NHS Trust

Jill Halstead-Rastrick
Musculoskeletal and Rheumatology Podiatrist, Division of Musculoskeletal Disease, Chapel Allerton Hospital, Leeds

Andrew Price
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, University of Oxford

4.2 National Clinical Guideline Centre

Susan Latchem
Operations Director

Vanessa Delgado Nunes
Guideline Lead and Senior Research Fellow

Emmert Roberts
Research Fellow

Margaret Constanti
Health Economist

Paul Miller
Information Scientist

4.3 NICE project team

Nicole Elliott
Guideline Lead (to July 2013)

Mark Baker
Guideline Lead (from August 2013)

Martin Allaby
Clinical Adviser

Claire Turner
Guideline Commissioning Manager (to August 2012)

Ben Doak
Guideline Commissioning Manager (from September 2012)

Joy Carvill
Guideline Coordinator

Judith Thornton
Technical Lead

Bhaish Naidoo
Health Economist

Lyn Knott

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)