2 Notes on the scope of the guidance

2 Notes on the scope of the guidance

NICE guidelines are developed in accordance with a scope that defines what the guideline will and will not cover.

This guideline covers induction of labour in the following clinical circumstances:

  • prolonged pregnancy

  • preterm prelabour rupture of membranes

  • prelabour rupture of membranes

  • fetal growth restriction

  • previous caesarean section

  • history of precipitate labour

  • maternal request

  • breech presentation

  • intrauterine fetal death

  • suspected macrosomia.

Where relevant evidence exists, the guideline addresses induction of labour in the presence of an unfavourable and a favourable cervix separately.

This guideline does not cover induction of labour for the following groups:

  • women with diabetes

  • women with multifetal pregnancy

  • women having augmentation (rather than induction) of labour.

This guideline gives guidance on induction of labour, within a hospital-based maternity unit setting, that covers:

  • the clinical indications for induction of labour

  • the timing of induction of labour

  • the care women should be offered during the induction process, including monitoring, analgesia, emotional support and information provision for women and their partners/families

  • methods for induction of labour

  • management if the cervix is unfavourable

  • management of complications of induction of labour, such as failed induction.

How this guideline was developed

NICE commissioned the National Collaborating Centre for Women's and Children's Health to develop this guideline. The Centre established a Guideline Development Group (see appendix A), which reviewed the evidence and developed the recommendations. An independent Guideline Review Panel oversaw the development of the guideline (see appendix B).

There is more information about how NICE clinical guidelines are developed on the NICE website. A booklet, 'How NICE clinical guidelines are developed: an overview for stakeholders, the public and the NHS' is available.

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)