Appendix A: The Guideline Development Group

Appendix A: The Guideline Development Group

Dr Henry Smithson (Chair)
General Practitioner; Senior Clinical University Teacher, Academic Unit of Primary Medical Care, Sheffield

Professor Rob Horne
Professor of Behavioural Medicine, Head of Department of Practice and Policy, The School of Pharmacy, University of London

Dr John Benson
Senior Lecturer in General Practice, General Practice and Primary Care Research Unit, Department of Public Health and Primary Care, University of Cambridge

Mr Shaun Johnson
Patient representative; Mind Link National Advisory Panel; Trustee, LAMP (the Leicestershire Action for Mental Health Project)

Mrs Alison Bowser
Patient representative; independent patient advocate; patient representative for Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Authority, Cornwall and Isles of Scilly Primary Care Trust and Royal College of General Practitioners

Dr Mahendra Patel
Lecturer/Research Fellow, Institute of Pharmaceutical Innovation, University of Bradford

Mr Stephen Hemingway
Senior Lecturer in Mental Health, University of Huddersfield

Mrs Bunis Packham
Nurse Consultant – Thrombosis and Anticoagulation, Barnet and Chase Farm Hospitals NHS Trust

Mr Jim Blair
Senior Lecturer in Learning Disabilities, Kingston University/St George's University of London; Interim Consultant Nurse (Learning Disabilities)
St George's Healthcare NHS Trust

Professor Peter Crome
Professor of Geriatric Medicine, Keele University; Honorary Consultant Geriatrician, North Staffordshire Combined Healthcare NHS Trust

Dr Peter Haddad
Consultant Psychiatrist, Greater Manchester West Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust; Honorary Senior Lecturer in Psychiatry, University of Manchester

Dr Jonathan Steel
General Practitioner, Gloucestershire; Chairman, GP Network, Royal College of Physicians

Dr Sean Kelly
Consultant Physician and Gastroenterologist, York Hospital; Honorary Senior Lecturer, Hull York Medical School

Dr Wendy Clyne
Assistant Director, Medicines Partnership Programme, NPC Plus, Keele University

National Collaborating Centre for Primary Care

Dr Norma O'Flynn
Guideline Lead and Clinical Director

Ms Elizabeth Shaw
Guideline Lead (until February 2007) and Deputy Chief Executive (until February 2008)

Ms Vanessa Nunes
Senior Health Services Research Fellow/Project Manager

Ms Julie Neilson
Health Services Research Fellow

Ms Stefanie Kuntze
Health Economist (until October 2008)

Dr Neil Calvert
Senior Health Economist

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)