11 Diagnostics Advisory Committee members and NICE project team

11 Diagnostics Advisory Committee members and NICE project team

Diagnostics Advisory Committee

The Diagnostics Advisory Committee is an independent committee consisting of 22 standing members and additional specialist members. During this assessment the membership of the Diagnostics Advisory Committee changed as some members reached the end of their terms and others were appointed in their place. A full list of the Committee members who participated in this assessment appears below.

Standing Committee members

Dr Trevor Cole
Consultant Clinical and Cancer Geneticist, Birmingham Women's Hospital

Professor Paul Collinson
Consultant Chemical Pathologist and Professor of Cardiovascular Biomarkers, St George's Hospital

Dr Sue Crawford
General Practitioner (GP) Principal, Chillington Health Centre

Professor Ian Cree
Senior Clinical Advisor, National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Evaluation Trials and Studies Coordinating Centre, University of Southampton

Professor Erika Denton
National Clinical Director for Imaging, Department of Health, Honorary Professor of Radiology, University of East Anglia and Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital

Dr Steve Edwards
Head of Health Technology Assessment, British Medical Journal (BMJ) Evidence Centre

Mr David Evans
Lay member

Dr Simon Fleming
Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine, Royal Cornwall Hospital

Professor Lisa Hall
Professor of Analytical Biotechnology, University of Cambridge

Professor Chris Hyde
Professor of Public Health and Clinical Epidemiology, Peninsula Technology Assessment Group (PenTAG)

Professor Noor Kalsheker
Professor of Clinical Chemistry, University of Nottingham

Dr Gail Norbury
Consultant Clinical Scientist, Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Mark Kroese (Vice Chair)
Diagnostics Advisory Committee and Consultant in Public Health Medicine, PHG Foundation, Cambridge and UK Genetic Testing Network

Dr Peter Naylor
General Practitioner (GP), Chair Wirral Health Commissioning Consortia

Professor Adrian Newland (Chair)
Diagnostics Advisory Committee

Dr Richard Nicholas
Consultant Neurologist, Honorary Senior Lecturer, Heatherwood and Wexham Park Hospitals

Ms Margaret Ogden
Lay member

Mr Stuart Saw
Director of Finance, North East London and the City primary care trusts

Professor Mark Sculpher
Professor of Health Economics at the Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Dr Steve Thomas
Consultant Vascular and Cardiac Radiologist at Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Foundation Trust

Mr Paul Weinberger
Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Diasolve Ltd, London

Mr Christopher Wiltsher
Lay representative

Specialist Committee members

Professor Anthony Howell
Director of the Breakthrough Breast Cancer Research

Mr Simon Pain
Consultant Breast and Endocrine Surgeon, Department of General Surgery, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital

Mrs Ursula Van Mann
Lay member

Mrs Carole Farrell
Nurse Clinician, The Christie NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Louise Jones
Consultant Clinical Scientist, Barts and the London NHS Trust

NICE project team

Each diagnostics assessment is assigned to a team consisting of a Technical Analyst (who acts as the topic lead), Technical Advisers and Project Managers.

Gurleen Jhuti
Topic Lead

Hanan Bell and Pall Jonsson
Technical Advisers

Jackson Lynn and Robert Fernley
Project Managers

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)