11 Diagnostics Advisory Committee members and NICE project team

11 Diagnostics Advisory Committee members and NICE project team

Diagnostics Advisory Committee

The Diagnostics Advisory Committee is an independent committee consisting of 22 standing members and additional specialist members. A list of the Committee members who participated in this assessment appears below.

Standing Committee members

Professor Ron Akehurst
Professor in Health Economics, School of Health & Related Research, University of Sheffield

Dr Trevor Cole
Consultant Clinical and Cancer Geneticist, Birmingham Women's Hospital

Professor Paul Collinson
Consultant Chemical Pathologist & Professor of Cardiovascular Biomarkers, St George's Hospital

Dr Sue Crawford
General Practitioner (GP) Principal, Chillington Health Centre

Professor Ian A Cree
Senior Clinical Advisor, NIHR Evaluation Trials and Studies Coordinating Centre, University of Southampton

Professor Erika Denton
National Clinical Director for Diagnostics, NHS England, Honorary Professor of Radiology, University of East Anglia and Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital

Dr Simon Fleming
Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine, Royal Cornwall Hospital

Professor Chris Hyde
Professor of Public Health and Clinical Epidemiology, Peninsula Technology Assessment Group (PenTAG)

Professor Noor Kalsheker
Professor of Clinical Chemistry, University of Nottingham

Dr Mark Kroese
Vice Chair, Diagnostics Advisory Committee and Consultant in Public Health Medicine, PHG Foundation, Cambridge and UK Genetic Testing Network

Professor Adrian Newland
Chair, Diagnostics Advisory Committee

Dr Richard Nicholas
Consultant Neurologist, Honorary Senior Lecturer, Heatherwood and Wexham Park Hospitals

Mr Stuart Saw
Director of Finance, North East London and the City PCTs

Professor Mark Sculpher
Professor of Health Economics at the Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Dr Steve Thomas
Consultant Vascular and Cardiac Radiologist at Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Foundation Trust

Mr Paul Weinberger
CEO, Diasolve Ltd, London

Mr Christopher Wiltsher
Lay member

Mr David Evans
Lay member

Dr Gail Norbury
Consultant Clinical Scientist, Guy's & St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Peter Naylor
Chair/General Practitioner, Wirral Health Commissioning Consortium

Dr Steve Edwards
Head of Health Technology Assessment, BMJ Evidence Centre

Specialist Committee members

Dr Anjan Dhar
Senior Lecturer in Gastroenterology, Consultant Gastroenterologist, Darlington Memorial & Bishop Auckland Hospitals

Dr John O'Malley
Organisational Medical Director/GP, Mastercall Healthcare

Mr Nick Read
Lay member

Dr Raian Sheikh
General Practitioner, Orchard Medical Practice

Dr Simon Whitehead
Trainee Clinical Scientist, New Cross Hospital

Dr Robert Logan
Consultant Physician & Gastroenterologist, King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

NICE project team

Each diagnostics assessment is assigned to a team consisting of a Technical Analyst (who acts as the topic lead), a Technical Adviser and a Project Manager.

Gurleen Jhuti
Topic Lead

Hanan Bell and Pall Jonsson
Technical Advisers

Jackson Lynn and Robert Fernley
Project Managers

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)