9 Diagnostics advisory committee members and NICE project team

9 Diagnostics advisory committee members and NICE project team

Diagnostics advisory committee

The diagnostics advisory committee is an independent committee consisting of 22 standing members and additional specialist members. A list of the committee members who participated in this assessment appears below.

Standing committee members

Professor Adrian Newland
Chair, diagnostics advisory committee and Professor of Haematology, Barts Health NHS Trust

Dr Mark Kroese
Vice Chair, diagnostics advisory committee and Consultant in Public Health Medicine, PHG Foundation, Cambridge and UK Genetic Testing Network

Professor Ron Akehurst
Professor in Health Economics, School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield

Dr Phil Chambers
Research Fellow, Leeds Institute of Cancer and Pathology, University of Leeds

Dr Sue Crawford
GP Principal, Chillington Health Centre

Professor Erika Denton
National Clinical Director for Diagnostics, NHS England, Honorary Professor of Radiology, University of East Anglia and Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital

Dr Steve Edwards
Head of Health Technology Assessment, BMJ Evidence Centre

Mr David Evans
Lay member

Dr Simon Fleming
Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine, Royal Cornwall Hospital

Mr John Hitchman
Lay member

Professor Chris Hyde
Professor of Public Health and Clinical Epidemiology, Peninsula Technology Assessment Group (PenTAG)

Mr Matthew Lowry
Director of Finance and Infrastructure, Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Michael Messenger
Deputy Director and Scientific Manager National Institute for Health Research Diagnostic Evidence Co-operative, Leeds

Dr Peter Naylor
GP, Chair Wirral Health Commissioning Consortia

Dr Dermot Neely
Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine, Newcastle upon Tyne NHS Trust

Ms Gail Norbury
Consultant Clinical Scientist, Guy's Hospital

Dr Deirdre Ryan
Consultant Cellular Pathologist, Royal London Hospital

Dr Steve Thomas
Consultant Vascular and Cardiac Radiologist, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Foundation Trust

Mr Paul Weinberger
Chief Executive Officer, DiaSolve Ltd, London

Professor Anthony Wierzbicki
Consultant in Metabolic Medicine and Chemical Pathology, St Thomas' Hospital

Specialist committee members

Mrs Ann Marie Barnard
Lay member

Dr Jenny Myers
Senior Lecturer and Consultant Obstetrician, Maternal and Fetal Health Research Centre, Central Manchester Foundation Trust

Mr Nigel Simpson
Senior Lecturer in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, and Honorary Consultant, Division of Women and Children's Health, University of Leeds

Professor Jimmy Walker
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, St James's University Hospital Trust

Mr David Wells
Pathology General Manager, Viapath, St Thomas' Hospital

NICE project team

Each diagnostics assessment is assigned to a team consisting of a Technical Analyst (who acts as the topic lead), a Technical Adviser and a Project Manager.

Frances Nixon
Topic Lead

Sarah Byron
Technical Adviser

Robert Fernley
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)