8 Diagnostics advisory committee members and NICE project team

8 Diagnostics advisory committee members and NICE project team

Diagnostics advisory committee

The diagnostics advisory committee is an independent committee consisting of 22 standing members and additional specialist members. A list of the committee members who participated in this assessment appears below.

Standing committee members

Professor Adrian Newland
Chair, diagnostics advisory committee and Professor of Haematology, Barts Health NHS Trust

Dr Mark Kroese
Vice Chair, diagnostics advisory committee and Consultant in Public Health Medicine, PHG Foundation, Cambridge and UK Genetic Testing Network

Professor Ron Akehurst
Professor in Health Economics, School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield

Dr Phil Chambers
Research Fellow, Leeds Institute of Cancer and Pathology, University of Leeds

Dr Sue Crawford
GP Principal, Chillington Health Centre

Professor Erika Denton
National Clinical Director for Diagnostics, NHS England, Honorary Professor of Radiology, University of East Anglia and Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital

Dr Steve Edwards
Head of Health Technology Assessment, BMJ Evidence Centre

Dr Simon Fleming
Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine, Royal Cornwall Hospital

Dr James Gray
Consultant Microbiologist, Birmingham Children's Hospital

Mr John Hitchman
Lay member

Professor Chris Hyde
Professor of Public Health and Clinical Epidemiology, Peninsula Technology Assessment Group (PenTAG)

Mr Patrick McGinley
Head of Costing and Service Line Reporting, Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust

Dr Michael Messenger
Deputy Director and Scientific Manager NIHR Diagnostic Evidence Co‑operative, Leeds

Mrs Alexandria Moseley
Lay member

Dr Peter Naylor
GP, Chair Wirral Health Commissioning Consortia

Dr Dermot Neely
Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine, Newcastle upon Tyne NHS Trust

Dr Simon Richards
VP Regulatory Affairs, Europe and Middle East (EME), Alere Inc

Dr Deirdre Ryan
Consultant Cellular Pathologist, Royal London Hospital

Professor Mark Sculpher
Professor of Health Economics, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Dr Steve Thomas
Consultant Vascular and Cardiac Radiologist, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Foundation Trust

Professor Anthony Wierzbicki
Consultant in Metabolic Medicine/Chemical Pathology, St Thomas Hospital

Specialist committee members

Professor Nigel Cunliffe
Consultant Medical Microbiologist, University of Liverpool

Mary Foss
Lay member

Dr Robert Logan
Consultant Gastroenterologist, Kings College Hospital NHS Trust

Dr David Partridge
Consultant Microbiologist, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr Giovanni Satta
Consultant in Medical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust

NICE project team

Each diagnostics assessment is assigned to a team consisting of a technical analyst (who acts as the topic lead), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Rebecca Albrow
Topic Lead (until September 2016)

Jessica Maloney
Topic Lead (from October 2016)

Frances Nixon
Technical Adviser (until September 2016)

Rebecca Albrow
Technical Adviser (from October 2016)

Rob Fernley
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)