7 Diagnostics advisory committee members and NICE project team

7 Diagnostics advisory committee members and NICE project team

Diagnostics advisory committee

The diagnostics advisory committee is an independent committee consisting of 22 standing members and additional specialist members. A list of the committee members who participated in this assessment appears below.

Standing committee members

Dr Mark Kroese
Chair, diagnostics advisory committee

Ms Elizabeth Adair
Quality director, ViaPath

Mr John Bagshaw
In-vitro diagnostics consultant

Professor Enitan Carrol
Chair in paediatric infection, University of Liverpool

Dr Owen Driskell
Lead for laboratory medicine, National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Clinical Research Network West Midlands

Dr Steve Edwards
Head of health technology assessment, BMJ Evidence Centre

Dr Simon Fleming
Consultant in clinical biochemistry and metabolic medicine, Royal Cornwall Hospital

Dr James Gray
Consultant microbiologist, Birmingham Children's Hospital

Professor Steve Halligan
Professor of radiology, University College London

Mr John Hitchman
Lay member

Professor Chris Hyde
Professor of public health and clinical epidemiology, Exeter Test Group, University of Exeter Medical School

Mr Patrick McGinley
Head of costing and service line reporting, Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust

Dr Michael Messenger
Deputy director and scientific manager NIHR Diagnostic Evidence Co‑operative, Leeds

Mrs Alexandria Moseley
Lay member

Dr Peter Naylor
GP, Wirral

Dr Dermot Neely
Consultant in clinical biochemistry and metabolic medicine, Newcastle upon Tyne NHS Trust

Dr Shelley Rahman Haley
Consultant cardiologist, Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Simon Richards
VP regulatory affairs, EME, Alere Inc

Professor Mark Sculpher
Professor of health economics, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Professor Matt Stevenson
Professor of health technology assessment, School of Health and Related Research, University of Sheffield

Dr Nick Summerton
GP, East Yorkshire

Professor Anthony Wierzbicki
Consultant in metabolic medicine/chemical pathology, St Thomas' Hospital

Specialist committee members

Miss Maria Bramley
Consultant oncoplastic breast surgeon, Pennine Acute NHS Trust c/o Royal Oldham Hospital

Dr John Graham
Consultant oncologist, Taunton & Somerset NHS Foundation Trust

Linda Pepper
Lay specialist committee member

Dr Deirdre Ryan
Consultant cellular pathologist, Barts Health NHS Trust

Dr Britta Stordal
Senior lecturer, Middlesex University

Ursula Van Mann
Lay specialist committee member

Professor Andrew Wardley
Professor of breast medical oncology, The Christie NHS Foundation Trust

NICE project team

Each diagnostics assessment is assigned to a team consisting of a technical analyst (who acts as the topic lead), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Frances Nixon
Topic lead

Rebecca Albrow
Technical adviser

Donna Barnes
Project manager

ISBN: 978-1-4731-3128-6

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)