Appendix A: Diagnostics Advisory Committee members and NICE project team

Appendix A: Diagnostics Advisory Committee members and NICE project team

Diagnostics Advisory Committee

The Diagnostics Advisory Committee is an independent Committee consisting of 22 standing members and additional specialist members. A list of the Committee members who participated in this assessment appears below.

Standing Committee members

Dr Trevor Cole
Consultant Clinical Geneticist, Birmingham Women's Hospital Foundation Trust

Dr Simon Fleming
Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine, Royal Cornwall Hospital

Professor Noor Kalsheker
Professor of Clinical Chemistry, Molecular Medical Sciences, University of Nottingham

Dr Mark Kroese
Consultant in Public Health Medicine, PHG Foundation and UK Genetic Testing Network

Professor Adrian Newland (Chair)
Consultant Haematologist, Barts and the London NHS Trust

Dr Richard Nicholas
Consultant Neurologist, Heatherwood and Wexham Park Hospital, Imperial Healthcare Trust

Ms Margaret Ogden
Lay member

Professor Mark Sculpher
Professor of Health Economics, University of York

Professor Ron Akehurst
Professor in Health Economics, School of Health & Related Research (ScHARR) University of Sheffield

Dr Steve Thomas
Senior Lecturer and Consultant Radiologist, University of Sheffield

Dr Sue Crawford
General Practitioner (GP) Principal, The Health Centre, Devon

Mr Christopher Wiltsher
Lay member

Specialist Committee members

Dr Tim Hoare
Consultant Radiologist with Special Interest in Abdominal Imaging, Newcastle Hospitals NHS Trust

Mrs Gail Coster
Advanced Practitioner Sonographer, Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Mrs Jane Smith
Consultant Sonographer Practitioner, St James's University Hospital

Dr Kofi Ernest Oppong
Consultant Gastroenterologist, Newcastle Hospitals NHS Trust

Mr Richard Hall
Patient Support Group Manager, British Liver Trust

NICE project team
Each diagnostics assessment is assigned to a team consisting of 1 Technical Analyst (who acts as the topic lead), a Technical Adviser and a Project Manager.

Gurleen Jhuti
Topic Lead

Hanan Bell
Technical Adviser

Jackson Lynn
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)