Appendix A: Diagnostics Advisory Committee members and NICE project team

Appendix A: Diagnostics Advisory Committee members and NICE project team

Diagnostics Advisory Committee

The Diagnostics Advisory Committee is an independent committee consisting of 22 standing members and additional specialist members. A list of the Committee members who participated in this assessment appears below.

Standing Committee members

Dr Trevor Cole
Consultant Clinical Geneticist, Birmingham Women's Hospital Foundation Trust

Dr Paul Collinson
Consultant Chemical Pathologist, St George's Hospital

Professor Ian Cree
Senior Clinical Advisor, NIHR Evaluation Trials and Studies Coordinating Centre, University of Southampton

Professor Erika Denton
National Clinical Director for Imaging, Department of Health

Dr Simon Fleming
Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine, Royal Cornwall Hospital

Professor Elizabeth (Lisa) Hall
Professor of Analytical Biotechnology, Institute of Biotechnology, Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, University of Cambridge

Professor Chris Hyde
Professor of Public Health and Clinical Epidemiology, Peninsula College of Medicine and Dentistry

Professor Noor Kalsheker
Professor of Clinical Chemistry, Molecular Medical Sciences, University of Nottingham

Dr Mark Kroese
Consultant in Public Health Medicine, PHG Foundation and UK Genetic Testing Network

Professor Adrian Newland (Chair)
Consultant Haematologist, Barts and the London NHS Trust

Dr Richard Nicholas
Consultant Neurologist, Heatherwood and Wexham Park Hospital, Imperial Healthcare Trust

Ms Margaret Ogden
Lay member

Dr Diego Ossa
Director Market Access Europe, Novartis Molecular Diagnostics

Mr Stuart Saw
Director of Finance and Procurement, Tower Hamlets Primary Care Trust

Professor Mark Sculpher
Professor of Health Economics, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Dr Steve Thomas
Senior Lecturer and Consultant Radiologist, University of Sheffield

Mr Paul Weinberger
CEO, Diasolve Ltd, London

Mr Christopher Wiltsher
Lay member

Specialist Committee members

Dr Kevin Bradley
Consultant in Nuclear Medicine & Radiology, Oxford Radcliffe Hospitals

Dr Matthew Brookes
Consultant Gastroenterologist, Royal Wolverhampton NHS

Dr Annelies Maenhout
Consultant in Nuclear Medicine, Chelsea and Westminster NHS Foundation Trust and Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Trust

Professor John McLaughlin
Consultant Gastroenterologist, Salford Royal Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Nick Read
Chair and Medical Advisor, IBS Network

Dr Richard Thompson
Senior Lecturer in Paediatric Hepatology, Institute of Liver Studies, King's College London

NICE project team

Each diagnostics assessment is assigned to a team consisting of a Technical Analyst (who acts as the topic lead), a Technical Adviser and a Project Manager.

Farouk Saeed
Topic Lead

Hanan Bell
Technical Adviser

Jackson Lynn
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)