9 Diagnostics Advisory Committee members and NICE project team

9 Diagnostics Advisory Committee members and NICE project team

Diagnostics Advisory Committee

The Diagnostics Advisory Committee is an independent committee consisting of 24 standing members and additional specialist members. During this assessment the membership of the Diagnostics Advisory Committee changed because some members reached the end of their terms and others were appointed in their place. A full list of the Committee members who participated in this assessment appears below.

Standing Committee members

Professor Ron Akehurst
Professor in Health Economics, School of Health & Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield

Dr Trevor Cole
Consultant Clinical and Cancer Geneticist, Birmingham Women's Hospital

Dr Paul Collinson
Consultant Chemical Pathologist, St George's Hospital

Dr Sue Crawford
General Practitioner (GP) Principal, Chillington Health Centre

Professor Ian A Cree
Senior Clinical Advisor, NIHR Evaluation Trials and Studies Coordinating Centre, University of Southampton

Professor Erika Denton
National Clinical Director for Imaging, Department of Health, Honorary Professor of Radiology, University of East Anglia and Norfolk & Norwich University Hospital

Dr Steve Edwards
Head of Health Technology Assessment, BMJ Evidence Centre.

Mr David Evans
Lay representative

Dr Simon Fleming
Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine, Royal Cornwall Hospital

Professor Lisa Hall
Professor of Analytical Biotechnology, University of Cambridge

Professor Noor Kalsheker
Professor of Clinical Chemistry, University of Nottingham

Dr Gail Norbury
Consultant Clinical Scientist, Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Mark Kroese
Vice Chair, Diagnostics Advisory Committee and Consultant in Public Health Medicine, PHG Foundation, Cambridge and UK Genetic Testing Network

Dr Peter Naylor
GP, Chair Wirral Health Commissioning Consortia

Professor Adrian Newland
Chair, Diagnostics Advisory Committee

Dr Richard Nicholas
Consultant Neurologist; Honorary Senior Lecturer, Heatherwood and Wexham Park Hospitals

Ms Margaret Ogden
Lay representative

Dr Diego Ossa
Director of Market Access Europe, Novartis Molecular Diagnostics

Mr Stuart Saw
Director of Finance, North East London and the City PCTs

Professor Mark Sculpher
Professor of Health Economics at the Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Dr Steve Thomas
Consultant Vascular and Cardiac Radiologist at Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Foundation Trust

Mr Paul Weinberger
CEO, DiaSolve Ltd, London

Mr Christopher Wiltsher
Lay representative

Specialist Committee members

Ms Marie Hecht
Lay member

Professor Ian Kunkler
Consultant and Honorary Professor in Clinical Oncology, Edinburgh Cancer Centre

Professor Graham T Layer
Consultant surgeon and Director of Professional Standards, Royal Surrey County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Mr Simon Pain
Consultant Breast and Endocrine Surgeon, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital

Mr Zenon Rayter
Consultant surgeon, North Bristol NHS Trust

Dr Deirdre Ryan
Consultant pathologist, Barts Health NHS Trust

Dr Abeer Shaaban
Consultant pathologist, St James's University Hospital

NICE project team

Each diagnostics assessment is assigned to a team consisting of a Technical Analyst (who acts as the topic lead), a Technical Adviser and a Project Manager.

Sarah Byron
Topic Lead

Pall Jonsson
Technical Adviser

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)