NATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR HEALTH AND CLINICAL EXCELLENCE

Diagnostics Advisory Committee (DAC)

Minutes of the Meeting on Wednesday, 6 March 2013

Level 1A City Tower, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4BD

PRESENT:

Standing Committee members:

Professor Adrian Newland (Chairman)

Professor Christopher Hyde

Mr Christopher Wiltsher

Professor Erika Denton

Professor Ian A Cree

Ms Margaret Ogden

Dr Mark Kroese

Professor Mark Sculpher

Professor Noor Kalsheker

Professor Paul Collinson

Mr Paul Weinberger

Professor Ron Akehurst

Dr Simon Fleming

Mr Stuart Saw

Dr Trevor Cole

Standing Committee apologies:

Dr Diego Ossa

Professor Lisa Hall

Dr Richard Nicholas

Dr Steve Thomas

Dr Sue Crawford

Specialist Committee members:

Dr Fiona Blackhall

Mrs Mandi Elliott

Dr Mark Slade

Mr Paul Roberts

Dr Phillipe Taniere

Mr Thomas Haswell

Specialist Committee members apologies:

None

In attendance: DAP staff

Mirella Marlow, Programme director Nick Crabb, Associate Director Pall Jonsson, Technical Adviser Farouk Saeed, Technical Analyst Frances Nixon, Technical Analyst Robert Fernley, Project Manager

External Assessment Group representatives: Kleijnen Systematic Reviews Ltd.

Marie Westwood Thea van Asselt Bram Ramaekers

Observing:

Christopher Pomfrett, Technical Adviser, Medical Technologies Evaluation Programme (MTEP) - NICE Helen Barnett, Senior Medical Editor, NICE

PART 1 AND PART 2 (open and closed parts of the meeting). 10.30am – Part 1 open session commenced.

1. Introduction to the meeting

The Chair welcomed Committee members, observers and members of the public

The Chair welcomed representatives from Roche Molecular Systems, Inc. and QIAGEN Ltd.

Apologies were noted.

2. Code of conduct for members of the public attending the meeting

The Chairman explained the code of conduct to the members of the public attending this meeting.

3. Any other business

No other business was offered.

4. Minutes from the last Committee meeting

The Committee agreed the minutes from the 6 February 2013 Committee meeting.

5. NICE's advisory body guide to declaring a conflict of interest

The Chairman drew the Committee's attention to NICE's Advisory Body Quick Guide for declaring conflicts of interest, the selection and routing criteria and the equalities statement.

<u>Epidermal growth factor receptor tyrosine kinase (EGFR-TK) mutation testing in adults with locally advanced or metastatic non-small-cell lung cancer</u>

Part 1 - Open session

The Chair asked Committee members to declare any relevant interests.

- Professor Ian Cree declared interests, none of which meant Ian was unable to take part in the meeting.
- Professor Mark Sculpher declared interests, none of which meant Mark was unable to take part in the meeting.
- Mr Paul Weinberger declared interests, none of which meant Paul was unable to take part in the meeting.
- Dr Fiona Blackhall declared interests, none of which meant Fiona was unable to take part in the meeting.

The Committee was asked if there were any specific equalities to consider in relation to this technology.

The Chair asked the representatives of the manufacturers whether they wished to comment on any matters of factual accuracy. No matters of factual accuracy were raised.

There were six public attendees.

The Chair then thanked the experts and manufacturer representatives for their attendance, participation and contribution to the Assessment and they left the meeting.

Part 2 - closed session

Agreement on the content of the Diagnostic Consultation Document (DCD) was discussed by the committee.

Date, time and venue of next meeting

Wednesday, April 10 2013, 10:00am at National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence, Level 1A, City Tower, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4BD