

Membership of Thyroid Disease Guideline Committee

The Committee will operate as an advisory Committee to NICE's Board, developing a guideline on Thyroid Disease.

The terms of reference and standing orders for the Committee can be found in appendix D of Developing NICE guidelines: the manual.

The Committee has 13 members.

Membership list

Agreed Constituency	Name	Job Title, Organisation	Comment			
Chair						
Chair	Mrs. Sarah Fishburn	Standing Committee Chair, NICE				
Clinical Advisor						
Endocrinologist and Clinical Advisor	Dr. Kristien Boelart	Consultant Endocrinologist: Lead for Thyroid Services, Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham; Lead for the antenatal Endocrine Service at Birmingham Women's Hospital; Reader in endocrinology, Institute of Metabolism and Systems Research, University of Birmingham				
Core members / Members						
General Practitioner	Dr. Anh Tran	Associate Salaried General Practitioner, Shadbolt Park House Surgery				
Endocrinologist	Dr. Bijay Vaidya	Consultant physician, General Medicine, Diabetes & Endocrinology,Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, Exeter; Honorary Clinical Professor University of Exeter Medical School				
General Practitioner	Dr. Renee Hoenderkamp	Portfolio General Practitioner: Mildmay Medical Centre, Ravenscroft Medical Centre and Christchurch Hall Surgery, London.				
Paediatric Endocrinologist	Dr. Renuka Dias	Consultant in Paediatric Endocrinology and Diabetes; Birmingham Children's Hospital; Honorary Senior Clinical Research Fellow Institute of Metabolism and Systems Research, School of Clinical and Experimental Medicine, University of Birmingham				
Endocrinologist	Dr. Simon	Professor of Endocrinology, Institute of Genetic				

	Pearce	Medicine, Newcastle University, UK; Honorary Consultant Physician, Newcastle upon Tyne NHS Foundation Trust.				
Paediatric Endocrinologist	Dr. Timothy Cheetham	University Reader and Consultant in Paediatrics and Paediatric Endocrinology, Newcastle upon Tyne				
Hospital Pharmacist	Mr. Philip Newland-Jones	Consultant Pharmacist Diabetes and Endocrinology, Diabetes & Endocrinology, Specialist Medicine, Southampton General Hospital				
Lay member	Mrs. Annette Furley	Patient Advocate				
Specialist Nurse	Mrs. Jean Munday	Endocrine Nurse Specialist. Department of Diabetes & Endocrinology, Queen Alexandra Hospital Portsmouth				
Lay member	Mrs. Mary Newton	Patient Advocate				
Lay member	Ms. Karina Russell	Patient Advocate				
Cooptee						
Radiologist	Mr. Mark Ballard	Consultant Radiologist RAMC, assigned to Royal Centre for Defence Medicine based at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Birmingham.				
Pathologist	Dr. Adrian Warfield	Consultant Histopathologist/ Cytopathologist; Departmental Educational Supervisor at University Hospital Birmingham				
Thyroid surgeon	Dr. Huw Griffiths	Consultant with an interest in General adult and paediatric ENT with subspecialist interest in laryngology, thyroid and head and neck surgery, Heart of England NHS Foundation Trust; Honorary role, University Hospital				

Committee membership list – Thyroid Disease Guideline Committee

		Birmingham.	
Biochemist	Dr. David Halsall	Deputy Clinical Director, Pathology; Director of Cambridge Supra-Regional Assay Service for Hormone Analysis, Blood Sciences; Consultant Clinical Scientist, Blood Sciences; Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge	
Psychiatrist	Dr. Rowena Jones	Consultant Psychiatrist, Liaison Psychiatry, Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health Foundation Trust; Honorary Senior Clinical lecturer, University of Birmingham	
Medical Physicist	Dr. Glenn Flux	Head of Radioisotope Physics. Institute of Cancer Research & Royal Marsden NHS Trust, Sutton.	

Date last reviewed: 26/01/2018