Membership of Menopause (update) Guideline Committee

The Committee will operate as an advisory Committee to NICE's Board, developing a guideline on Menopause (update).

The Committee has 12 members, including 3 lay members. In addition, there are 6 co-opted members.

Agreed constituency	Name	Job Title, Organisation	Comment
Chair			
Chair	Gillian Baird	Professor of Paediatric Neurodisability, Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust	
Topic advisers			
Topic adviser	Haitham Hamoda	Consultant Gynaecologist, Subspecialist in Reproductive Medicine and Surgery, Clinical Lead for the Menopause Services, Clinical Lead for Ambulatory Gynaecology Services, King's College Hospital, London Chairman British Menopause Society	Until February 2024
Topic adviser	Martha Hickey	Consultant in Gynaecology, Head of Menopause Unit, Clinical Lead Gynaecology Research Centre, Royal Women's Hospital, Victoria, Australia Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Deputy Head of Department, University of Melbourne, Australia	
Core members / M	lembers		
Community gynaecologist	Louise Massey	Consultant in Sexual and Reproductive Health Aneurin Bevan University Health Board, Gwent	
GP	Anita Sharma	GP with special interest in women's health, GP triager of gynaecology referrals, GP Trainer and appraiser, South Chadderton Health Centre, Oldham	

Membership list

Agreed constituency	Name	Job Title, Organisation	Comment
GP	Sarah Hillman	GP, Bidford Health Centre, Bidford-upon Avon	
		Clinical Lecturer in Primary Care, University of Warwick	
Specialist menopause nurse	Kathy Abernethy	Director of Menopause Services, Peppy Health, London	
Nurse in primary care	Kerry Barnett (until December 2022)	Advanced Nurse Practitioner Bridges Medical Practice, Trinity Medical Centre, Gateshead, Tyne and Wear	Appointed in June 2022 – and was a committee member until December 2022
Prescribing clinical pharmacist working in primary care	Hayley Berry	Regional Manager Centre for Pharmacy Postgraduate Education (CPPE) University of Manchester	
		Menopause specialist clinical pharmacist, Newson Health, Stratford-upon-Avon	
Epidemiologist with specialist interest in hormone replacement therapy	Gill Reeves	Professor of Epidemiology, Director of Cancer Epidemiology Unit, Senior Scientist, University of Oxford	
Lay member	Nina Kuypers	N/A	
Lay member	Karina Bowkett	N/A	
Lay member	Lorraine Griffiths	N/A	
Co-opted members			
Psychologist or therapist with expertise in cognitive behavioural therapy	Jenny Van Heerden	Consultant Clinical Psychologist, University College London Hospitals, Women's Health Division, London	Appointed in July 2022
Breast oncologist	Anne Armstrong	Consultant Medical Oncologist and Honorary Senior Lecturer, Medical Oncology, The Christie Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, Manchester	
Gynaecological oncologist	Sadaf Gaem- Maghami	Professor of Gynaecological Oncology, Imperial College, London	Appointed in August 2022
		Honorary Consultant Gynaecological Oncologist, Imperial NHS Trust	

Agreed constituency	Name	Job Title, Organisation	Comment
Clinical expert on cognitive impairment/dementia	Eef Hogervorst	Professor of Biological Psychology, Loughborough University	
Clinical expert on cardiovascular disease	John C Stevenson	Consultant Physician, Royal Brompton Hospital, Sydney Street, London	Appointed in August 2022 Until February 2024
Clinical expert on osteoporosis and musculoskeletal issues	David Armstrong	Consultant rheumatologist & osteoporosis specialist, Western Health and Social Care Trust, Londonderry, Northern Ireland	
Clinical expert on type 2 diabetes	TBC		Vacant
Clinical expert on venous thromboembolism	Roopen Arya	Consultant & Clinical Director, Haematological Medicine and Professor of Thrombosis & Haemostasis, King's College Hospital	Appointed in August 2022

Date last reviewed: 12/02/2024