

Membership of fertility problems (update) guideline committee

The committee will operate as an advisory committee to NICE's Board, updating guideline on the assessment and treatment of fertility problems.

The terms of reference and standing orders for the Committee can be found in <u>appendix D of</u> <u>Developing NICE guidelines: the manual</u>.

The committee will have 15 members (including 3 co-opted members).

Membership list



Agreed constituency	Name	Job Title, Organisation	Comment
Chair	L		
Chair	Professor Fergus Macbeth	Retired	
		Honorary Professor, Cardiff University	
Topic advisers/early	members		
Embryologist	Professor Jason Kasraie	Consultant Clinical Scientist (Andrologist & Embryologist)- HFEA Person Responsible, Head of Fertility Services, Shrewsbury & Telford Hospitals NHS Trust	
Consultant gynaecologist with special interest in reproductive medicine and surgery	Dr Raj Mathur	Consultant Gynaecologist, Subspecialist in Reproductive Medicine and Surgery, Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust.	
		Hon Senior Lecturer, University of Manchester	
Consultant andrologist	Mr Maj Shabbir	Consultant Urological Surgeon - Specialist in Andrology and Genito- urethral Reconstruction, Guy's and St. Thomas' Hospital, London	
		Honorary Senior Lecturer, King's College, London	
Committee members			
Lay member with lived experience of fertility/assisted reproductive technology treatment	Ms Kate Brian	Lay member	
Lay member with lived experience of fertility/assisted reproductive technology treatment	Mr Ciaran Hannington	Lay member	
Academic in the field of assisted reproductive technology	Professor Nicky Hudson	Professor in Medical Sociology, School of Applied Social Sciences, De Montfort University, Leicester	
		Director – Centre for Reproduction Research, De Montfort University, Leicester	

ΝΙ	CE	National Institute for Health and Care Excel
		Health and Care Excel

	NICE National Institute for Health and Care Excellence				
Agreed constituency	Name	Job Title, Organisation	Comment		
Consultant gynaecologist	Mr Stuart Lavery	Divisional Director Women's Health UCLH			
		Consultant Gynaecologist, Subspecialist in Reproductive Medicine and Surgery UCLH			
GP with a special interest in fertility/assisted reproductive technology	Dr Yasmin Rahman	GP Royal Arsenal Medical Centre			
Lay member with lived experience of fertility/assisted reproductive technology treatment	Mrs Bethan Shoemark-Spear	Lay member			
Nurse working in fertility/assisted reproductive technology	Mrs Francesca Steyn	Director of Fertility and Women's Health Services, Peppy Health			
Commissioner	Mr Peter Taylor	Assistant Director, Public Health Commissioning, Norfolk County Council			
Co-opted members					
Consultant urologist with a special interest in andrology	Mr Kevin McEleny	Consultant Urologist with special interest in Andrology, Newcastle- upon-Tyne Hospital NHS Trust			
Clinician/scientist with expertise in the preservation of fertility	Mr Guy Morris	Subspecialty Trainee Reproductive Medicine and Surgery			
		St. Michael's Hospital Bristol, Southmead Hospital Bristol, Bristol Centre for Reproductive Medicine			
Clinical andrologist (scientist)	Professor Allan Pacey	Deputy Vice Present and Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Biology, Medicine and Health, University of Manchester			

Date last reviewed:

1 February 2024