Suggested remit: To appraise the clinical and cost effectiveness of crisaborole within its marketing authorisation for treating mild to moderate atopic dermatitis in people aged 2 years and older.
Status In progress
Process STA 2018
ID number 1195

Project Team

Project lead Jeremy Powell

Email enquiries

Evidence Review Group / Assessment Group School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield


Companies sponsors Pfizer (crisaborole)
Others Department of Health and Social Care
  NHS England
  Welsh Government
Patient carer groups The National Eczema Society
Professional groups British Association of Dermatologists
  British Dermatological Nursing Group
  Royal College of Physicians


Associated public health groups Public Health England
  Public Health Wales
Comparator companies Accord Healthcare (tacrolimus) (not participating)
  Accord UK (betamethasone valerate, hydrocortisone) (not participating)
  Alliance Pharmaceuticals (benzalkonium chloride, dimeticone, hydrocortisone, nystatin) (not participating)
  Aspire Pharma (fluticasone propionate) (not participating)
  Auden Mckenzie Pharma Division, a subsidiary of Actavis PLC (betamethasone valerate, mometasone furoate) (not participating)
  Boots Company PLC (hydrocortisone) (not participating)
  Dermal Laboratories (hydrocortisone) (not participating)
  Ennogen Healthcare (clobetasone butyrate, nystatin, oxytetracycline calcium) (not participating)
  Galderma UK (hydrocortisone) (not participating)
  Generics UK T/A Mylan (betamethasone valerate, mometasone furoate) (not participating)
  GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Healthcare (betamethasone valerate, clobetasone butyrate, fluticasone propionate, hydrocortisone) (not participating)
  Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Europe (mometasone furoate) (not participating)
  Intrapharm Laboratories (hydrocortisone, oxytetracycline hydrochloride) (not participating)
  Janssen-Cilag (hydrocortisone) (not participating)
  Karo Pharma AB (hydrocortisone) (not participating)
  Leo Laboratories (betamethasone valerate, fusidic acid, hydrocortisone, tacrolimus) (not participating)
  Marlborough Pharmaceuticals (hydrocortisone) (not participating)
  Merck Sharp & Dohme (betamethasone dipropionate, mometasone furoate) (not participating)
  Mylan (pimecrolimus) (not participating)
  Pinewood Healthcare (hydrocortisone) (not participating)
  Reckitt Benckiser Healthcare (hydrocortisone) (not participating)
General commentators All Wales Therapeutics and Toxicology Centre
  British National Formulary
  Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland
  Healthcare Improvement Scotland
  Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency Welsh Health Specialised Services Committee
Relevant research groups Centre of Evidence-based Dermatology, University of Nottingham
  MRC Clinical Trials Unit


Key events during the development of the guidance:

Date Update
12 March 2020 Committee meeting: 1
16 July 2019 Invitation to participate
16 June 2019 In progress. Appraisal has been referred to NICE.
20 November 2018 - 18 December 2018 Consultation on suggested remit, draft scope and provisional matrix of consultees and commentators

For further information on how we develop guidance, please see our page about NICE technology appraisal guidance