Suggested remit: To appraise the clinical and cost effectiveness of upadacitinib within its marketing authorisation for treating moderate to severe atopic dermatitis in people aged 12 and over.
Status In progress
Process STA 2018
ID number 3733

Provisional Schedule

Committee meeting: 1 04 August 2021
Expected publication 27 October 2021

Project Team

Project lead Jeremy Powell

Email enquiries


Companies sponsors AbbVie (upadacitinib)
Others Department of Health and Social Care
  NHS England
  NHS Heywood, Middleton and Rochdale CCG
  NHS Hounslow CCG
  Welsh Government
Patient carer groups British Association of Dermatologists
  British Contact Dermatitis Society
  British Dermatological Nursing Group
  British Geriatrics Society
  British Skin Foundation
  British Society for Allergy & Clinical Immunology
  British Society for Cutaneous Allergy
  British Society for Paediatric Dermatology
  Primary Care Dermatology Society
  Royal College of General Practitioners
  Royal College of Nursing
  Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health
  Royal College of Pathologists
  Royal College of Physicians
  Royal Pharmaceutical Society
  Royal Society of Medicine
  UK Clinical Pharmacy Association
Professional groups Action Against Allergy
  Action for Sick Children
  Allergy UK
  British Skin Foundation
  Eczema Outreach Support
  Muslim Council of Britain
  National Children’s Bureau
  National Eczema Society
  South Asian Health Foundation
  Specialised Healthcare Alliance


Associated public health groups Public Health England
  Public Health Wales
Comparator companies Accord (azathioprine, methotrexate, mycophenolate mofetil)
  Advanz Pharma (methotrexate)
  Aspen (azathioprine)
  Cipla (methotrexate)
  Dexcel-Pharma Limited (ciclosporin)
  Ennogen (alitretion, azathioprine)
  GlaxoSmithKline (alitretion)
  Hospira (methotrexate)
  Medac (methotrexate)
  Mylan (azathioprine, ciclosporin, mycophenolate mofetil)
  Nordic Pharma (methotrexate)
  Novartis Pharmaceuticals (ciclosporin, mycophenolate mofetil)
  Orion Pharma (methotrexate)
  Pfizer (methotrexate)
  Roche (mycophenolate mofetil)
  Rosemont Pharmaceuticals (methotrexate)
  Sandoz (methotrexate, mycophenolate mofetil)
  Sanofi (dupilumab)
  Santen (ciclosporin)
  Teva (mycophenolate mofetil)
  Therakind (methotrexate)
General commentators All Wales Therapeutics and Toxicology Centre
  Allied Health Professionals Federation
  Board of Community Health Councils in Wales
  British National Formulary
  Care Quality Commission
  Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland
  Healthcare Improvement Scotland
  Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency
  National Association of Primary Care
  National Pharmacy Association
  NHS Alliance
  NHS Confederation
  Scottish Medicines Consortium
  Welsh Health Specialised Services Committee
Relevant research groups British Epidermo-Epidemiology Society
  Centre of Evidence-based Dermatology, University of Nottingham
  Cochrane Skin Group
  Genomics England
  MRC Clinical Trials Unit
  National Institute for Health Research
  Skin Treatment & Research Trust


Key events during the development of the guidance:

Date Update
10 December 2020 Invitation to participate
10 December 2020 In progress. Final scope issued
16 July 2020 - 13 August 2020 Consultation on suggested remit, draft scope and provisional stakeholder list of consultees and commentators

For further information on how we develop guidance, please see our page about NICE technology appraisal guidance