Suggested remit: To appraise the clinical and cost effectiveness of eptinezumab within its marketing authorisation for preventing migraine.
Status In progress
Technology type Medicine
Decision Selected
Process STA 2018
ID number 3803

Provisional Schedule

Committee meeting 16 February 2023
Expected publication 05 May 2023

Project Team

Project lead Kate Moore

Email enquiries


Companies sponsors Lundbeck (eptinezumab)
Others Department of Health and Social Care
  NHS Camden CCG
  NHS Castle Point and Rochford CCG
  NHS England
  Welsh Government
Patient carer groups Action on Pain
  Brain and Spine Foundation
  Brain Charity
  Migraine Action
  Migraine Trust
  National Migraine Centre
  Neurological Alliance
  Pain Concern
  Pain UK
  South Asian Health Foundation
  Specialised Healthcare Alliance
Professional groups Association of British Neurologists
  British Association for the Study of Headache
  British Geriatrics Society
  British Neuropathological Society
  British Pain Society
  Institute of Neurology
  Migraine in Primary Care Advisors
  Neuromodulation Society of UK and Ireland
  Physiotherapy Pain Association
  Primary Care Neurology Society
  Royal College of Anaesthetists
  Royal College of General Practitioners
  Royal College of Nursing
  Royal College of Pathologists
  Royal College of Physicians
  Royal Pharmaceutical Society
  Royal Society of Medicine
  UK Clinical Pharmacy Association
Associated public health groups Public Health Wales
  UK Health Security Agency
Comparator companies AbbVie (botulinum toxin type A)
  Accord Healthcare (amitriptyline, propranolol, topiramate)
  Aurobindo Pharma (propranolol, topiramate)
  Brown & Burk UK (amitriptyline)
  Eli Lilly (galcanezumab)
  Flamingo Pharma (amitriptyline)
  Glenmark Pharmaceuticals (topiramate)
  Janssen-Cilag (topiramate)
  Mylan (topiramate)
  Novartis (erenumab)
  Pharmanovia (propranolol)
  Rosemont Pharmaceuticals
  (amitriptyline, propranolol, topiramate)
  Sandoz (propranolol)
  Teva UK (fremanezumab)
  Thame Laboratories (amitriptyline, propranolol)
  Tillomed Laboratories (propranolol)
  Wockhardt UK (amitriptyline)
General commentators All Wales Therapeutics and Toxicology Centre
  Allied Health Professionals Federation
  Board of Community Health Councils in Wales
  British National Formulary
  Care Quality Commission
  Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland
  Healthcare Improvement Scotland
  Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency
  National Association of Primary Care
  National Pharmacy Association
  Neurological Alliance of Scotland
  NHS Alliance
  NHS Confederation
  Scottish Medicines Consortium
  Wales Neurological Alliance
  Welsh Health Specialised Services Committee
Relevant research groups Brain Research UK
  British Neurological Research Trust
  Cochrane Pain, Palliative Care and Supportive Care Group
  Cochrane UK
  Genomics England
  MRC Clinical Trials Unit
  National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery
  National Institute for Health Research
  Pain Relief Foundation


Key events during the development of the guidance:

Date Update
16 June 2022 Invitation to participate
27 January 2022 - 24 February 2022 Consultation on suggested remit, draft scope and provisional stakeholder list of consultees and commentators
24 November 2021 In progress. DHSC referral received

For further information on our processes and methods, please see our CHTE processes and methods manual