Suggested remit: To appraise the clinical and cost effectiveness of rimegepant within its marketing authorisation for treating or preventing migraine.
Status In progress
Process STA 2018
ID number 1539

Provisional Schedule

Committee meeting 02 June 2022
Expected publication 10 August 2022

Project Team

Project lead Kate Moore

Email enquiries


Companies sponsors Biohaven Pharmaceuticals (rimegepant)
Others Department of Health and Social Care
  NHS Bristol, North Somerset, and South Gloucestershire CCG
  NHS Dartford, Gravesham and Swanley CCG
  NHS England
  Welsh Government
Patient carer groups Action on Pain
  Brain and Spine Foundation
  Brain Charity
  Migraine Trust
  National Migraine Centre
  Neurological Alliance
  Pain Concern
  Pain Relief Foundation
  Pain UK
  South Asian Health Foundation
  Specialised Healthcare Alliance
Professional groups Association of British Neurologists
  British Association for the Study of Headache
  British Geriatrics Society
  British Neuropathological Society
  British Pain Society
  Health Lumen
  Institute of Neurology
  Migraine in Primary Care Advisors
  Neuromodulation Society of UK and Ireland
  Physiotherapy Pain Association
  Primary Care and Community Neurology Society
  Royal College of Anaesthetists
  Royal College of General Practitioners
  Royal College of Nursing
  Royal College of Pathologists
  Royal College of Physicians
  Royal Pharmaceutical Society
  Royal Society of Medicine
  UK Clinical Pharmacy Association


Associated public health groups Public Health Wales
  UK Health Security Agency
Comparator companies AbbVie (botulinum toxin type A)
  Accord Healthcare (amitriptyline, almotriptan, aspirin, diclofenac, metoclopramide, paracetamol, prochlorperazine, propranolol, rizatriptan, sumatriptan, topiramate, zolmitriptan)
  Advanz Pharma (metoclopramide, paracetamol)
  Alliance Pharmaceuticals (aspirin, prochlorperazine)
  Aspire Pharma (ibuprofen, paracetamol)
  Aurobindo Pharma (domperidone, ibuprofen, paracetamol, propranolol, sumatriptan, topiramate)
  Baxter Healthcare (paracetamol)
  Boots (aspirin, ibuprofen, paracetamol, sumatriptan)
  Bristol Laboratories (sumatriptan)
  Bristol Myers Squibb Pharmaceuticals (paracetamol)
  Brown and Burk UK (amitriptyline, prochlorperazine)
  Cipla (paracetamol)
  Dexcel-Pharma (sumatriptan)
  Dr Reddy's Laboratories UK (aspirin, sumatriptan)
  Eli Lilly (galcanezumab)
  Fannin (paracetamol)
  Flamingo Pharma UK (amitriptyline, ibuprofen, paracetamol)
  Galderma (botulinum toxin type A)
  Galen (paracetamol)
  Genus Pharmaceuticals (zolmitriptan)
  GlaxoSmithKline (aspirin, ibuprofen, paracetamol, sumatriptan)
  Glenmark Pharmaceuticals (rizatriptan, topiramate, zolmitriptan)
  Grunenthal (paracetamol, zolmitriptan)
  Healthcare Pharma (aspirin, metoclopramide)
  Infirst Healthcare (ibuprofen)
  Intrapharm Laboratories (paracetamol)
  Ipca Laboratories (paracetamol)
  Janssen-Cilag (topiramate)
  Kent Pharmaceuticals (paracetamol)
  M&A Pharmachem (aspirin, paracetamol)
  Martindale Pharmaceuticals (aspirin)
  McNeil Products (ibuprofen, paracetamol)
  Merz Pharma (botulinum toxin type A)
  Mylan (ibuprofen, rizatriptan, sumatriptan, topiramate, zolmitriptan)
  Neuraxpharm UK (rizatriptan)
  Novartis (erenumab)
  Omega Pharma (ibuprofen, paracetamol)
  Organon (rizatriptan)
  Pfizer (ibuprofen, eletriptan)
  Pinewood Healthcare (ibuprofen, paracetamol)
  Reckitt Benckisser Healthcare (paracetamol, aspirin, ibuprofen)
  Rosemont Pharmaceuticals (amitriptyline, metoclopramide, paracetamol, propranolol, topiramate)
  Sandoz (propranolol)
  Sanofi (metoclopramide, paracetamol, prochlorperazine)
  Sun Pharmaceuticals UK (sumatriptan)
  Teva UK Limited (fremanezumab)
  Thame Laboratories (amitriptyline, metoclopramide, propranolol)
  Tillomed Laboratories (propranolol, rizatriptan)
  Trion Pharma (paracetamol)
  Typharm (paracetamol)
  UCB Pharma (paracetamol)
  Wockhardt UK (amitriptyline, ibuprofen)
  Zentiva UK (aspirin, domperidone, metoclopramide, paracetamol)
General commentators All Wales Therapeutics and Toxicology Centre
  Allied Health Professionals Federation
  Board of Community Health Councils in Wales
  British National Formulary
  Care Quality Commission
  Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland
  Healthcare Improvement Scotland
  Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency
  National Association of Primary Care
  National Pharmacy Association
  Neurological Alliance of Scotland
  NHS Alliance
  NHS Confederation
  Scottish Medicines Consortium
  Wales Neurological Alliance
  Welsh Health Specialised Services Committee
Relevant research groups Brain Research UK
  British Neurological Research Trust
  Cochrane Pain, Palliative Care and Supportive Care Group
  Genomics England
  MRC Clinical Trials Unit
  National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery
  National Institute for Health Research


Key events during the development of the guidance:

Date Update
22 September 2021 In progress. Invitation to Participate issued.
22 September 2021 Invitation to participate
09 September 2021 For information, the appraisal is now expected to start in approximately late September 2021 when we will write to consultees and commentators about how they can get involved.
15 April 2021 - 14 May 2021 Consultation on suggested remit, draft scope and provisional stakeholder list of consultees and commentators

For further information on how we develop guidance, please see our page about NICE technology appraisal guidance