7 Committee members and NICE lead team

Medical Technologies Advisory Committee members

The Medical Technologies Advisory Committee is a standing advisory committee of NICE. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this guidance appears below.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be evaluated. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that evaluation.

The minutes of each Medical Technologies Advisory Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor Bruce Campbell (Chair)
Consultant Vascular Surgeon, Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital

Dr Peter Groves (Vice Chair)
Consultant Cardiologist, Cardiff and Vale NHS Trust

Professor Dilly Anumba
Chair of Obstetrics and Gynaecology/Honorary Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist, University of Sheffield

Ms Susan Bennett
Lay member

Professor Bipin Bhakta (until April 2013)
Charterhouse Professor in Rehabilitation Medicine and NHS Consultant Physician, Rehabilitation Specialist, Leeds Institute of Molecular Medicine

Dr Keith Blanshard
Consultant Interventional Radiologist, Leicester Royal Infirmary

Mr Matthew Campbell-Hill
Lay member

Professor Daniel Clark
Head of Clinical Engineering, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Tony Freemont
Professor of Osteoarticular Pathology, University of Manchester

Professor Peter Gaines
Consultant Vascular Interventional Radiologist, Sheffield, Vascular Institute and Sheffield Hallam University

Professor Shaheen Hamdy
Professor of Neurogastroenterology, University of Manchester

Dr Jerry Hutchinson
Independent Medical Technology Advisor, Independent

Dr Cynthia Iglesias
Health Economist, University of York

Professor Mohammad Ilyas
Professor of Pathology, University of Nottingham

Dr Greg Irving
General Practitioner, University of Liverpool

Dr Eva Kaltenthaler
Reader in Health Technology Assessment, School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield

Dr Paul Knox
Reader in Vision Science, University of Liverpool

Mrs Jacqui Nettleton
Programme Director, Commissioning, Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Brian J Pollard
Professor of Anaesthesia, University of Manchester. Consultant Anaesthetist, Central Manchester University Hospitals

Mr Brian Selman
Managing Director, Sectra & Co

Professor Wendy Tindale
Scientific Director, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Allan Wailoo
Professor of Health Economics, School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield

Dr Janelle Yorke
Senior Lecturer and Researcher in Nursing, University of Manchester

NICE lead team

Each medical technology assessment is assigned a lead team of a NICE technical analyst and technical adviser, an expert adviser, a technical expert, a patient expert, a non-expert member of the Medical Technologies Advisory Committee and a representative of the External Assessment Centre.

Jo Burnett
Technical Analyst

Sally Doss
Technical Adviser

Dr Alistair McNarry and Dr Brendan McGrath
Lead Expert Advisers

Professor Anthony Freemont
Non-Expert MTAC Member

Professor Richard Lilford
External Assessment Centre Representative

Dr Carole Cummins
External Assessment Centre Representative

Samantha Burn
External Assessment Centre Representative

Amanda Chapman
External Assessment Centre Representative

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)