7 Committee members and NICE lead team

Medical Technologies Advisory Committee members

The Medical Technologies Advisory Committee is a standing advisory committee of NICE. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this guidance appears below.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be evaluated. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that evaluation.

The minutes of each Medical Technologies Advisory Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor Bruce Campbell (Chair)
Consultant Vascular Surgeon, Exeter

Dr Peter Groves (Vice Chair)
Consultant Cardiologist, Cardiff and Vale NHS Trust

Professor Dilly Anumba
Chair of Obstetrics and Gynaecology/Honorary Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist, University of Sheffield

Ms Susan Bennett
Lay member

Dr Keith Blanshard
Consultant Interventional Radiologist, University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust

Professor Nigel Brunskill
Professor of Renal Medicine, University of Leicester

Mr Andrew Chukwuemeka
Consultant Cardiothoracic Surgeon, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust

Professor Daniel Clark
Head of Clinical Engineering, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Tony Freemont
Professor of Osteoarticular Pathology, University of Manchester

Professor Peter Gaines
Consultant Interventional Radiologist, Sheffield Vascular Institute and Sheffield Hallam University

Professor Shaheen Hamdy
Professor of Neurogastroenterology, University of Manchester

Mr Matthew Campbell-Hill
Lay member

Dr Jerry Hutchinson
Independent Medical Technology Adviser

Dr Cynthia Iglesias
Senior Research Fellow in Health Economics, University of York

Dr Greg Irving
General Practitioner, University of Liverpool

Professor Mohammad Ilyas
Professor of Pathology, University of Nottingham

Dr Eva Kaltenthaler
Reader in Health Technology Assessment, ScHARR, University of Sheffield

Dr Paul Knox
Reader in Vision Science, University of Liverpool

Mrs Jacqui Nettleton
Programme Director, Commissioning, Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Trust

Mrs Karen Partington
Chief Executive, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Brian J Pollard
Professor of Anaesthesia, University of Manchester; Consultant Anaesthetist, Central Manchester University Hospitals

Mr Brian Selman
Managing Director, Selman & Co

Professor Wendy Tindale
Scientific Director, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Allan Wailoo
Professor of Health Economics, School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield

Mr John Wilkinson
Director of Devices, MHRA

Dr Janelle Yorke
Lecturer and Researcher in Nursing, University of Manchester

NICE lead team

Each medical technology assessment is assigned a lead team of a NICE technical analyst and technical adviser, an expert adviser, a technical expert, a patient expert (if appropriate), a non-expert member of the Medical Technologies Advisory Committee and a representative of the External Assessment Centre.

Joanne Higgins
Technical Analyst

Mark Campbell
Associate Director

Bernice Dillon
Technical Adviser

Stephen Large
Lead Expert Adviser

Jorge Mascaro
Lead Expert Adviser

Jacqui Nettleton
Non-Expert MTAC Member

Muralikrishnan Radhakrishnan Kartha
External Assessment Centre Representative

Janet Peacock
External Assessment Centre Representative

Rachel Clough
External Assessment Centre Representative

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)