7 Committee members and NICE lead team

Medical technologies advisory committee members

The medical technologies advisory committee is a standing advisory committee of NICE. A list of the committee members who took part in the discussions for this guidance appears below.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be evaluated. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that evaluation.

The minutes of each medical technologies advisory committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor Bruce Campbell (Chair)
Consultant Vascular Surgeon, Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital

Dr Peter Groves (Vice Chair)
Consultant Cardiologist, Cardiff and Vale UHB

Professor Dilly Anumba
Chair of Obstetrics and Gynaecology/Honorary Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist, University of Sheffield

Ms Susan Bennett
Lay member

Dr Keith Blanshard
Consultant Interventional Radiologist, Leicester General Hospital

Professor Nigel Brunskill
Professor of Renal Medicine, University of Leicester

Mr Matthew Campbell‑Hill
Lay member

Mr Andrew Chukwuemeka
Consultant Cardiothoracic Surgeon, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust

Professor Daniel Clark
Head of Clinical Engineering, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Tony Freemont
Professor of Osteoarticular Pathology, University of Manchester

Professor Shaheen Hamdy
Professor of Neurogastroenterology, University of Manchester

Dr Jerry Hutchinson
Independent Medical Technology Adviser

Dr Cynthia Iglesias
Health Economist, University of York

Professor Mohammad Ilyas
Professor of Pathology, University of Nottingham

Dr Greg Irving
General Practitioner and Clinical Lecturer, University of Cambridge

Dr Eva Kaltenthaler
Reader in Health Technology Assessment, ScHARR, University of Sheffield

Dr Paul Knox
Reader in Vision Science, University of Liverpool

Mrs Karen Partington
Chief Executive, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Mr Brian Selman
Managing Director, Sectra Ltd

Professor Wendy Tindale
Scientific Director, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Allan Wailoo
Reader in Health Economics, ScHARR, University of Sheffield

Mr John Wilkinson
Director of Devices, Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency

Dr Janelle Yorke
Senior Lecturer in Nursing, University of Manchester

NICE lead team

Each medical technology assessment is assigned a lead team of a NICE technical analyst and technical adviser, an expert adviser, a technical expert, a patient expert, a non‑expert member of the Medical Technologies Advisory Committee (MTAC) and a representative of the external assessment centre.

Jo Burnett and Ailish Higgins
Technical analysts

Bernice Dillon
Technical adviser

Deborah Gleeson and Jackie Stephen‑Haynes
Lead expert advisers

Mohammad Ilyas
Non‑expert MTAC member

Catherine Meads and Matt Glover
External assessment centre representatives

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)