7 Committee members and NICE lead team

Medical technologies advisory committee members

The medical technologies advisory committee is a standing advisory committee of NICE. A list of the committee members who took part in the discussions for this guidance appears below.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be evaluated. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that evaluation.

The minutes of each medical technologies advisory committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Peter Groves (Chair)
Consultant Cardiologist, Cardiff and Vale NHS Trust

Ms Susan Bennett
Lay member

Mr Matthew Campbell-Hill
Lay member

Professor Daniel Clark
Head of Clinical Engineering, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr Fiona Denison (Vice Chair)
Reader/Honorary Consultant in Maternal and Fetal Health, University of Edinburgh

Professor Tony Freemont
Professor of Osteoarticular Pathology, University of Manchester

Professor Shaheen Hamdy
Professor of Neurogastroenterology, University of Manchester

Dr Cynthia Iglesias
Health Economist, University of York

Professor Mohammad Ilyas
Professor of Pathology, University of Nottingham

Dr Greg Irving
GP and Clinical Lecturer, University of Cambridge

Professor Eva Kaltenthaler
Professor of Health Technology Assessment, School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield

Dr Paul Knox
Reader in Vision Science, University of Liverpool

Dr Rory O'Connor
Charterhouse Professor of Rehabilitation Medicine, University of Leeds

Dr Jai V Patel
Consultant Vascular Radiologist, Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Mr Brian Selman
Managing Director, Selman and Company Limited

Professor Wendy Tindale
Scientific Director, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Allan Wailoo
Professor of Health Economics, School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield

Mr John Wilkinson
Director of Devices, Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency

Professor Janelle Yorke
Lecturer and Researcher in Nursing, University of Manchester

Dr Amber Young
Consultant Paediatric Anaesthetist, Bristol Royal Hospital for Children

NICE lead team

Each medical technology assessment is assigned a lead team of a NICE technical analyst and technical adviser, an expert adviser, a technical expert, a patient expert, a non-expert member of the medical technologies advisory committee and a representative of the external assessment centre.

Abigail Stevenson
Technical analyst

Paul Dimmock
Acting technical adviser

Gordon Muir, Andrew Thomas and Andrew Thorpe
Expert advisers

Brian Selman
Non-expert committee member

Carole Cummins, Subhash Pokhrel and Olu Onyimadu
External assessment centre representatives

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)