Appendix A. Committee members and NICE lead team

Appendix A. Committee members and NICE lead team

A Medical Technologies Advisory Committee members

The Medical Technologies Advisory Committee is a standing advisory committee of NICE. A list of the committee members who took part in the discussions for this guidance appears below.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be evaluated. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that evaluation.

The minutes of each Medical Technologies Advisory Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor Bruce Campbell (Chair) Consultant Vascular Surgeon, Exeter

Dr Peter Groves (Vice Chair) Consultant Cardiologist, Cardiff and Vale NHS Trust

Dr Dilly Anumba Senior Clinical Lecturer/Honorary Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist, University of Sheffield

Ms Susan Bennett Lay member

Professor Bipin Bhakta Charterhouse Professor in Rehabilitation Medicine and NHS Consultant Physician, University of Leeds

Dr Keith Blanshard Consultant Radiologist, Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dr (Robert) Martyn Bracewell Senior Lecturer in Neurology and Neuroscience, Bangor University

Dr Daniel Clark Head of Clinical Engineering, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Karl Claxton Professor of Economics, University of York

Mrs Gail Coster Radiography Manager, Strategy, Planning and Governance, Yorkshire NHS Trust

Dr Craig Dobson General Practitioner and Senior Lecturer in Medical Education and General Practice, Hull York Medical School

Dr Alex Faulkner Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Biomedicine & Society, King's College London

Professor Tony Freemont Professor of Osteoarticular Pathology, University of Manchester

Professor Peter Gaines Consultant Interventional Radiologist, Sheffield, Vascular Institute and Sheffield Hallam University

Mr Harry Golby Head of Commissioning, Acute, Access and Diagnostics, Salford NHS

Mr Hill Lay member

Dr Paul Knox Reader in Vision Science, University of Liverpool

Ms Catherine Leonard Reimbursement Manager, Medtronic UK

Dr Susanne Ludgate Clinical Director, Devices Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency

Professor Christopher McCabe Professor of Health Economics, Institute of Health Sciences, University of Leeds

Mrs Jacqui Nettleton Programme Director, Long Term Conditions, West Sussex PCT

Professor Sharon Peacock Professor of Clinical Microbiology, University of Cambridge

Dr Allan Swift Director of Quality and Regulatory Affairs, Gen-Probe Life Sciences

Professor Stephen Westaby Consultant Cardiac Surgeon, John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford

Dr Janelle York Lecturer and Researcher in Nursing, University of Salford

B NICE lead team

Each medical technology assessment is assigned a lead team of a NICE technical analyst and technical adviser, an expert adviser, a technical expert, a non-expert member of the Medical Technologies Advisory Committee and a representative of the External Assessment Centre.

Sarah Baggaley Technical Analyst

Dr Ibrahim Amin Lead Expert Adviser

Professor Peter Gaines Non-Expert MTAC Member

Professor Richard Lilford EAC Representative

Lizzy Latimer Technical Adviser

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)