

Membership of Surgical Site Infection guideline Committee

The Committee will operate as an advisory Committee to NICE's Board, developing clinical guideline on Surgical Site Infection.

The terms of reference and standing orders for the Committee can be found in appendix D of Developing NICE guidelines: the manual.

The Committee has 11 core members

Membership list

Agreed Constituency	Name	Job Title, Organisation	Comment
Chair			
Chair	Damien Longson	Consultant Liaison Psychiatrist, Greater Manchester Mental Health Foundation Trust	
Core members / Members			
Infection Control nurse	Melanie Burden	Advanced Nurse Specialist, Royal Devon & Exeter NHS Foundation Trust	
Theatre practitioner	Pamela Carroll	Lecturer in Operating Department Practice, Canterbury Christ Church University	
Patient/carer	Annie Hitchman	Lay member	
Microbiologist	Peter Jenks	Consultant Microbiologist and Director of Infection Prevention and Control, Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust	
Surgeon	David Leaper	Emeritus Professor of Surgery, University of Huddersfield	
Surgeon	Thomas Pinkney	Honorary Consultant Colorectal Surgeon, University Hospitals Birmingham	
Infection Control nurse	Melissa Rochon	Quality & Safety Lead for Surveillance, Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Foundation Trust	
Microbiologist	Giovanni Satta	Microbiologist, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust	
Anaesthetist	David Saunders	Consultant Anaesthetist Royal Victoria Infirmary Newcastle upon Tyne	
Patient/carer	Nigel Westwood	Lay member	

Date last reviewed: 09/04/2018