

Membership of Hypertension in Adults Guideline Committee

The Committee will operate as an advisory Committee to NICE's Board, developing a guideline on the diagnosis and management of hypertension in adults.

The terms of reference and standing orders for the Committee can be found in appendix D of Developing NICE guidelines: the manual.

Variations to the terms of reference:

The Committee has 11 members, to include 11 core members. In addition, there are/will be 1 co-opted members.

Membership list

Agreed Constituency	Name	Job Title, Organisation	Comment		
Chair					
Chair	Anthony Wierzbicki	Consultant in Metabolic Medicine/Chemical Pathology			
Core members / Members					
Lay member	Elizabeth Clark	Lay member			
Hypertension nurse specialist	Elizabeth Denver	Hypertension Nurse (Diabetes), Whittington Health NHS Trust			
Physician with interest in Hypertension	Mark Glover	Consultant Hypertension Specialist Physician, MRC Clinician Scientist and Associate Professor, University of Nottingham and Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust			
Primary care nurse	Judith Magowan	Practice nurse, Okehampton Surgery; Associate lecturer, Plymouth University			
GP	Terry McCormack	Principal in General Practice, Whitby Practice; Honorary Reader at Hull York Medical School			
Lay member	Irene McGill	Lay member			

GP	Richard McManus	Professor of Primary Care, Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford; General practitioner, Honorary Consultant in Primary Care, Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust	
Elderly care physician	Lucy Pollock	Consultant Geriatrician, Taunton and Somerset NHS Foundation Trust	
Commissioner	Mark Shapley	General Practitioner, Wolstanton Medical Centre Newcastle-under- Lyme	
Senior pharmacist	Alison Warren	Consultant Pharmacist Cardiology, Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust and Brighton and Hove CCG	
Physician with interest in Hypertension	Bryan Williams	Chair of Medicine, University College London (UCL) (HEFCE-tenured); Director, National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) University College London Hospitals Biomedical	Bryan Williams resigned his membership on the committee on 10/10/2018 at GC10. We did not re-recruit for this role.
		Research Centre (BRC); Director of Research and Development: University College London Hospitals;	

Committee membership list – Hypertension in adults

		Consultant Physician and Hypertension Specialist, University College London Hospitals; NIHR Senior Investigator			
Co-opted members					
Diabetologist	Parijat De	Consultant Physician In Diabetes, Endocrinology and Lipid Metabolism			

Date last reviewed: 11/01/19