11 Membership of the Public Health Advisory Committee and the NICE project team

11 Membership of the Public Health Advisory Committee and the NICE project team

Public Health Advisory Committee D

NICE has set up several Public Health Advisory Committees (PHACs). These standing committees consider the evidence and develop public health guidelines. Membership is multidisciplinary, comprising academics, public health practitioners, topic experts and members of the public. They may come from local government, the NHS, education, social care, environmental health, or the voluntary sector. The following are members of PHAC D:


John Britton
Professor of Epidemiology, Division of Epidemiology and Public Health, University of Nottingham

Core members

Paul Aveyard
Professor of Behavioural Medicine, Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford

Charlie Foster
Associate Professor, BHF CPNP, Nuffield Department of Population Health, Department of Public Health, University of Oxford

Jane Leaman
Consultant in Public Health, Population Health and Care Division, Health and Well Being Directorate, Public Health England

Susie Morrow
Community member

Mark Strong
Clinical Senior Lecturer in Public Health, School of Health and Related Research, University of Sheffield

Dagmar Zeuner
Director of Public Health, London Borough of Richmond upon Thames

Topic members

Gary Bickerstaffe
Health Improvement Specialist, Public Health, Bolton Council

Susan Biddle
Consultant, capmanBiddle

David Croisdale‑Appleby
Chair, Standing Commission on Carers, Skills for Care and the National Skills Academy

Janet Henson
Project Organiser and Tutor, Workers' Educational Association

Robin Ireland
Chief Executive, Heart of Mersey, Health Equalities Group

Louise Lafortune
Senior Research Associate, Cambridge Institute of Public Health, University of Cambridge

Jane Landon
Deputy Chief Executive, UK Health Forum

Gillian Orrow
GP, Redhill

Expert testimony to PHAC

Oliver Mytton
Honorary Specialty Registrar (Public Health), MRC Epidemiology Unit, University of Cambridge

Ian Gilmore
Consultant Physician and Gastroenterologist, Royal Liverpool University Hospitals; Honorary Professor, Department of Medicine, University of Liverpool

Linda Bauld
Professor of Health Policy, Institute for Social Marketing, University of Stirling

Adrian Williams
Clinical Director Sleep/Respiratory and Consultant Physician, Guys & St Thomas Hospital, London

Simon Capewell
Professor of Clinical Epidemiology, Institute of Psychology, Health and Society, University of Liverpool

Colin Mitchell
Researcher in Law, HeLEX – Centre for Health, Law and Emerging Technologies, Nuffield Department of Population Health, University of Oxford

Carol Brayne
Professor of Public Health Medicine, Institute of Public Health, Department of Public Health and Primary Care, University of Cambridge

Jamie Waterall
National Lead, NHS Health Check Programme, Public Health England

Deborah Hall
Directors of the NIHR Nottingham Hearing Biomedical Research Unit, Nottingham

NICE project team

Mike Kelly
CPH Director

Catherine Swann
Associate Director

Hilary Chatterton
Lead Analyst

Hugo Crombie

Claire McLeod

Alastair Fischer
Technical Adviser Health Economics

Rupert Franklin
Project Manager

Denise Jarrett

Gareth Haman and Sue Jelley
Senior editors

Susie Burlace

Declarations of interests

Members of the Public Health Advisory Committee made declarations of interest.

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)