

Membership of Diabetes update Guideline Committee

The Committee will operate as an advisory Committee to NICE's Board, developing guideline updates on Diabetes.

The terms of reference and standing orders for the Committee can be found in appendix D of Developing NICE guidelines: the manual.

The Committee has 29 members and 3 co-opted members.

Membership list

Agreed Constituency	Name	Job Title, Organisation	Comment			
Chair						
Chair	Ibrahim Abubakar	Director, Institute for Global Health				
Members						
Consultant Diabetologist	Sarah Ali	Consultant in Diabetes and Endocrinology, Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust				
Consultant Paediatrician	Chizo Agwu	Consultant Paediatrician in Diabetes and Endocrinology, Sandwell & West Birmingham NHS Trust				
General Practitioner	Chirag Bakhai	General Practitioner, Larkside Practice				
General Practitioner	Neel Basudev	General Practitioner, Springfield Medical centre				
Consultant Diabetologist	Augustin Brooks	Consultant Physician Diabetes, Royal Bournemouth Hospital				
Lay member	Therese Docherty	Lay member				
Consultant Diabetologist	Anne Dornhorst	Consultant Physician & Professor of Practice, Imperial College, London				
Mental health professional with a special interest in diabetes	Dorothy Frizelle	Consultant Clinical Health Psychologist, Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust				
Renal Physician	Hugh Gallagher	Consultant Nephrologist, Epsom and St. Helier NHS Trust				
Paediatric diabetes Nurse Specialist	Carole Gelder	Children's Diabetes Nurse Specialist, St James University Hospital				
Consultant Obstetrician	Jane Hirst	Consultant in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Oxford University Hospitals				

Committee membership list – Diabetes Guideline update Committee

		NHS Foundation Trust	
Midwife	Joanne Hutchinson	Senior Research Midwife and Diabetes Specialist Midwife, Barts Health	
Pharmacist	Natasha Jacques	Medicines Optimisation Lead Pharmacist – Primary Care NHS Arden and Greater East Midlands Commissioning Support Unit	
Pharmacist	Salianne Kavanagh	Senior Lecturer in Pharmacy Practice/ Clinical Pharmacy, University of Huddersfield	
Diabetes Nurse	Sharon McCarthy	Diabetes Nurse Consultant, NHS North West London Collaboration of Clinical Commissioning Groups	
Lay member	Rohan McMillan	Lay member	
Paediatric diabetes Nurse Specialist	Carol Metcalfe	Advanced Specialist Practitioner/ Service Lead, Paediatric Diabetes, Royal Manchester Children's Hospital	
Diabetes Nurse	Nicola Milne	Community Diabetes Specialist Nurse, Primary Care Diabetes Society Committee Member Manchester Diabetes Centre	
Consultant Obstetrician	Jenny Myers	Consultant Obstetrician, Central Manchester University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust	
Lay member	Daniel Newman	Lay member	
Consultant Paediatrician	Dr May Ng	Consultant Paediatric Endocrinologist & Honorary Associate Professor, Southport & Ormskirk NHS & University Liverpool	
Dietitian	Sian Rilstone	Research Dietician, Imperial College London	
Paediatric	Fiona	Specialist Paediatric	

Committee membership list – Diabetes Guideline update Committee

Dietitian	Rutherford	Dietician, St George's University Hospital			
Consultant Diabetologist	Soon Song	Consultant Physician and Diabetologist and Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust			
Midwife	Diane Todd	Specialist Midwife for Diabetes, University Hospitals of Leicester			
Consultant Diabetologist - pregnancy	Jonathan Webber	Consultant Diabetologist, University Hospitals Birmingham			
Cardiologist	Gosia Wamil	Consultant cardiologist at the Great Western Hospital in Swindon and visiting consultant at the Oxford University Hospitals			
Lay member	Corrine Wykes	Lay member			
Lay member	Katie Young	Lay member			
Coopted members					
Co-opted	Alexander Foss	Ophthalmologist			
Co-opted	Rushmia Karim	Paediatric Ophthalmologist			
Co-opted	Rum Thomas	Paediatric Intensive Care Consultant			
Resigned members					
General Practitioner	Andrew Farmer	Professor of General Practice, University of Oxford			

Date last reviewed: 6/8/20