

Committee membership list – Low Back Pain and Sciatica Guideline Committee

# Membership of Low Back Pain and Sciatica Guideline Committee

The Committee will operate as an advisory Committee to NICE's Board, developing a guideline on low back pain and sciatica in over 16s: assessment and management.

The terms of reference and standing orders for the Committee can be found in appendix D of Developing NICE guidelines: the manual.

The Committee has 15 core members.

Committee membership list – Low Back Pain and Sciatica Guideline Committee

# **Membership list**

Agreed Constituency	Name	Job Title, Organisation	Comment			
Chair						
Chair	Nick Kosky	Guideline Committee Chair				
Members						
Pain psychologist	Polly Ashworth	Consultant Clinical Psychologist, Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust				
Physician with interest in pain	Chris Barker	Clinical Lead Community Pain Service, Lancashire Care NHS FT				
General practitioner	Ian Bernstein	Musculoskeletal Physician, Connect Health Ltd; General Practitioner, Gordon House Surgery; Director of Medical Education, Central London Community Healthcare NHS Trust				
Allied health professional	Diarmuid Denneny	Professional Lead & Advanced Practitioner Physiotherapist in Pain				

Committee membership list – Low Back Pain and Sciatica Guideline Committee

		Management, University College Hospitals London	
Physician with interest in pain	Benjamin Ellis	Consultant Rheumatologist, Imperial College Healthcare	
General Practitioner	Jens Foell	General Practitioner, Llanfairfechan, and Senior Clinical Teaching Fellow Imperial College London	
Pharmacist	Roger Knaggs	Associate Professor in Clinical Pharmacy Practice, Specialist Pharmacist in Pain Management, University of Nottingham	
Addiction specialist	Soraya Mayet	Consultant Psychiatrist (Specialist in Addiction), Humber Teaching NHS Foundation Trust; Honorary Senior Lecturer at Hull and York Medical School	
Nurse specialist practitioner	Candida McCabe	Florence Nightingale Foundation Clinical Professor in Nursing	
Lay member	Lucy Ryan	Lay member	
Clinical Lead	Catherine Stannard	Consultant in Complex Pain	

Committee membership list – Low Back Pain and Sciatica Guideline Committee

		and Pain Transformation Clinical Lead, NHS Gloucestershire CCG	
Pain specialist	Stephen Ward	Consultant in Pain Medicine, Guy's & St Thomas Hospitals NHS Trust	
Pharmacist	Danielle Wigg	Highly Specialist Pharmacist (Pre- Op Assessment & Surgery) North Bristol NHS Trust	
Lay member	Colin Wilkinson	Lay member	

Date last reviewed: 07/2020