Appendix C: membership of the Public Health Interventions Advisory Committee

Appendix C: membership of the Public Health Interventions Advisory Committee

NICE has set up a standing committee, the Public Health Interventions Advisory Committee (PHIAC), which reviews the evidence and develops recommendations on public health interventions.

Membership of PHIAC is multidisciplinary, comprising public health practitioners, clinicians (both specialists and generalists), local authority employees, representatives of the public, patients and/or carers, academics and technical experts as follows.

Mrs Cheryll Adams Professional Officer for Research and Practice Development with the Community Practitioners' and Health Visitors' Association (CPHVA)

Professor Ron Akehurst Professor of Health Economics and Dean of the School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield

Professor Sue Atkinson Regional Director of Public Health for London. Health Adviser to Mayor and Greater London Authority

Professor Michael Bury Emeritus Professor of Sociology at the University of London and Honorary Professor of Sociology at the University of Kent

Professor Simon Capewell Chair of Clinical Epidemiology, University of Liverpool

Professor K K Cheng Professor of Epidemiology, University of Birmingham

Mr Philip Cutler Forums Support Manager, Bradford Alliance on Community Care

Professor Brian Ferguson Director of the Yorkshire and Humber Public Health Observatory

Dr Ruth Hall Director of Public Health for Avon, Gloucestershire and Wiltshire Strategic Health Authority

Ms Amanda Hoey Director, Consumer Health Consulting Limited

Mr Andrew Hopkin Senior Assistant Director for Derby City Council

Dr Ann Hoskins Director of Public Health for Cumbria and Lancashire Strategic Health Authority

Professor David R Jones Professor of Medical Statistics in the Department of Health Sciences, University of Leicester

Dr Matt Kearney General Practitioner, Castlefields, Runcorn. GP Public Health Practitioner, Knowsley

Ms Valerie King Designated Nurse for Looked After Children for Northampton PCT, Daventry and South Northants PCT and Northampton General Hospital. Public Health Skills Development Nurse for Northampton PCT

CHAIR Dr Catherine Law Reader in Children's Health, Institute of Child Health, University College, London

Ms Sharon McAteer Health Promotion Manager, Halton PCT

Professor Klim McPherson Visiting Professor of Public Health Epidemiology Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, University of Oxford

Professor Susan Michie, Professor of Health Psychology, BPS Centre for Outcomes Research & Effectiveness, University College, London

Ms Jane Putsey Lay Representative. Chair of Trustees of the Breastfeeding Network for Cumbria and Lancashire Strategic Health Authority

Dr Mike Rayner Director of British Heart Foundation Health Promotion Research Group, Department of Public Health, University of Oxford

Mr Dale Robinson Chief Environmental Health Officer for South Cambridgeshire District Council

Professor Mark Sculpher Professor of Health Economics at the Centre for Economics (CHE), University of York

Dr David Sloan Director of Health Improvement & Public Health for City & Hackney Teaching PCT

Dr Michael Varnam General Practitioner with the Community of Inner Nottingham

Dr Dagmar Zeuner Consultant in Public Health with Islington PCT