Appendix C: membership of the Public Health Interventions Advisory Committee (PHIAC), the NICE Project Team and external contractors

Appendix C: membership of the Public Health Interventions Advisory Committee (PHIAC), the NICE Project Team and external contractors

Public Health Interventions Advisory Committee

NICE has set up a standing committee, the Public Health Interventions Advisory Committee (PHIAC), which reviews the evidence and develops recommendations on public health interventions.

Membership of PHIAC is multidisciplinary, comprising public health practitioners, clinicians (both specialists and generalists), local authority employees, representatives of the public, patients and/or carers, academics and technical experts as follows.

Mrs Cheryll Adams Professional Officer for Research and Practice Development with the Community Practitioners' and Health Visitors' Association (CPHVA)

Professor Sue Atkinson CBE Independent Consultant and Visiting Professor in the Department of Epidemiology and Public Health, University College London

Professor Michael Bury Emeritus Professor of Sociology at the University of London and Honorary Professor of Sociology at the University of Kent

Professor Simon Capewell Chair of Clinical Epidemiology, University of Liverpool

Professor K K Cheng Professor of Epidemiology, University of Birmingham

Dr Richard Cookson Senior Lecturer, Department of Social Policy and Social Work, University of York

Mr Philip Cutler Forums Support Manager, Bradford Alliance on Community Care

Professor Brian Ferguson Director of the Yorkshire and Humber Public Health Observatory

Professor Ruth Hall Regional Director, Health Protection Agency, South West

Ms Amanda Hoey Director, Consumer Health Consulting Limited

Mr Andrew Hopkin Senior Assistant Director for Derby City Council

Dr Ann Hoskins Deputy Regional Director of Public Health for NHS North West

Ms Muriel James Secretary for the Northampton Healthy Communities Collaborative and the King Edward Road Surgery Patient Participation Group

Professor David R Jones Professor of Medical Statistics in the Department of Health Sciences, University of Leicester

Dr Matt Kearney General Practitioner, Castlefields, Runcorn and GP Public Health Practitioner, Knowsley

Ms Valerie King Designated Nurse for Looked After Children for Northampton PCT, Daventry and South Northants PCT and Northampton General Hospital. Public Health Skills Development Nurse for Northampton PCT

CHAIR Dr Catherine Law Reader in Children's Health, Institute of Child Health, University College London

Ms Sharon McAteer Health Promotion Manager, Halton PCT

Professor Klim McPherson Visiting Professor of Public Health Epidemiology, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, University of Oxford

Professor Susan Michie Professor of Health Psychology, BPS Centre for Outcomes Research & Effectiveness, University College London

Dr Mike Owen General Practitioner, William Budd Health Centre, Bristol

Ms Jane Putsey Lay Representative. Chair of Trustees of the Breastfeeding Network

Dr Mike Rayner Director of British Heart Foundation Health Promotion Research Group, Department of Public Health, University of Oxford

Mr Dale Robinson Chief Environmental Health Officer, South Cambridgeshire District Council

Professor Mark Sculpher Professor of Health Economics at the Centre for Economics (CHE), University of York

Dr David Sloan Retired Director of Public Health

Dr Dagmar Zeuner Consultant in Public Health, Islington PCT

Expert cooptees from the NICE Programme Development Group on Smoking Cessation

Deborah Arnott Director of Action on Smoking and Health (ASH)

Ian Gray Policy Officer – Health Development, Chartered Institute of Environmental Health

Andrew Hayes Regional Tobacco Control Policy Manager, London

Paul Hooper Regional Tobacco Control Policy Manager, West Midlands

Sir Alexander Macara Chair of the NICE Programme Development Group on Smoking Cessation

NICE Project Team

Professor Mike Kelly
CPHE Director

Tricia Younger
Associate Director

Dr Lesley Owen
Lead Analyst

Patti White

Dr Hugo Crombie

Dr Alastair Fischer
Health Economics Adviser.

External contractors

The British Columbia Centre of Excellence for Women's Health carried out the review of effectiveness. The authors were; Dr Kirsten Bell, Lucy McCulloch, Karen DeVries, Dr Lorraine Greaves and Natasha Jategaonkar.

Professor Ann McNeill and Adam Crosier carried out research on current service provision and provided expert testimony;

The York Health Economics Consortium carried out the economic appraisal. The authors were: Paul Trueman, Sarah Flack and Dr Matthew Taylor.