11 Membership of the Public Health Advisory Committee (PHAC) and the NICE project team

11 Membership of the Public Health Advisory Committee (PHAC) and the NICE project team

Public Health Advisory Committee

NICE has set up several Public Health Advisory Committees (PHACs). These standing committees consider the evidence and develop public health guidance. Membership is multidisciplinary, comprising academics, public health practitioners, topic experts and members of the public. They may come from the NHS, education, social care, environmental health, local government or the voluntary sector. The following are members of PHAC A:


Susan Jebb
Professor of Diet and Population Health, University of Oxford

Core members

Amanda Sowden
Deputy Director, National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, University of York

Chris Packham
Associate Medical Director, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Joyce Rothschild
Independent Education Consultant

Lucy Yardley
Professor of Health Psychology, University of Southampton

Mireia Jofre Bonet
Professor of Health Economics, City University, London

Toby Prevost
Professor of Medical Sciences, King's College London

Alison Lloyd
Community Member

Topic members

Adam Mackridge
Senior Lecturer in Pharmacy Practice, Liverpool John Moores University

Fortune Ncube
Consultant Epidemiologist/Head of Blood-borne Virus Section, HIV and STI Department, National Centre for Infectious Disease Surveillance and Control (CIDSC), Public Health England

Paul Wells
Peer Reviewer, Healthcare Inspectorate Wales Substance Misuse Peer Review Team; Former General Manager, Coventry and Warwickshire Partnership NHS Trust

Tony Margett
Substance Misuse Manager, East Riding of Yorkshire Council

Vicky Fenwick
Public Health Programme Manager, West Sussex County Council; Planning Group member, National Needle Exchange Forum

April Wareham
Community Member

Expert co-optees

Joseph Kean
Team manager, The Bridge Project; Senior Trainer/Consultant, Nine Zero Five

NICE project team

Mike Kelly
Director, Centre for Public Health

Simon Ellis
Associate Director

Chris Carmona
Lead Analyst

James Jagroo

Suzi Peden
Analyst (until July 2013)

Louise Millward
Analyst (from July 2013)

Alastair Fischer
Technical Adviser Health Economics

Emma Doohan
Project Manager

Rukshana Begum

Sue Jelley
Senior Editor

Rebecca Boucher and Susan Burlace

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)