Appendix B. Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The assessment report for this appraisal was prepared by Dr Nerys Woolacott, Dr Neil Hawkins, Mrs Anne Mason, Ms Anita Kainth, Ms Zarnie Khadjesari, Ms Yolanda Bravo Vergel, Ms Kate Misso, Ms Kate Light, Dr Robert Chalmers, Professor Mark Sculpher, and Dr Rob Riemsma, Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, University of York, York, Efalizumab and Etanercept for the Treatment of Psoriasis, 4 February 2005.

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal. They were invited to make submissions and comment on the draft scope, the assessment report and the Appraisal Consultation Document (ACD). Consultee organisations are provided with the opportunity to appeal against the Final Appraisal Determination.

I) Manufacturer/sponsors:

  • Wyeth Pharmaceuticals

  • Serono Pharmaceuticals Ltd

II) Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • Arthritis and Musculoskeletal Alliance

  • British Association of Dermatologists

  • British Society for Rheumatology

  • Department of Health

  • Primary Care Dermatology Society

  • Psoriasis Association

  • Psoriasis Arthropathy alliance

  • Royal College

  • Royal College and Child Health

  • Royal of Physicians

  • Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain

  • Skin Care Campaign

III) Commentator organisations (without the right of appeal):

  • British National Formulary

  • National Public Health Service for Wales

  • NHS Quality Improvement Scotland

  • Centre of Evidence-based Dermatology, University

  • Welsh Assembly Government

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical expert and patient advocate nominations from the professional/specialist and patient/carer groups. They participated in the Appraisal Committee discussions and provided evidence to inform the Appraisal Committee's deliberations. They gave their expert personal view on etanercept and efalizumab for the treatment of adults with psoriasis by attending the initial Committee discussion and/or providing written evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Professor Jonathon Barker, Professor of Dermatology, University of Manchester

  • Professor Christopher Griffiths, Professor of Dermatology, University of Manchester

  • Mr Richard Groves, Head of Clinical Immunodermatology, St. Johns Institute of Dermatology

  • Mr David Chandler, External Affairs, Psoriatic Arthropathy Alliance

  • Ms Gladys Edwards, Chief Executive, The Psoriasis Association