Appendix A. Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

Appendix A. Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A. Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets three times a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into three branches, each with the chair and a vice chair. Each branch considers its own list of technologies and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor David Barnett
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Dr David W Black
Director of Public Health, Chesterfield PCT

Mr Brian Buckley
Chairman, Incontact

Professor Mike Campbell
Professor of Medical Statistics, University of Sheffield

Dr Carol Campbell
Senior Lecturer, University of Teeside

Dr Peter Clark
Consultant Medical Oncologist, Clatterbridge Centre for Oncology, Merseyside

Ms Jude Cohen
Manager of Resources & Administration, Council for Psychotherapy (UKCP)

Dr Christine Davey
Senior Researcher, North Yorkshire Alliance R&D Unit

Dr Mike Davies
Consultant Physician, Manchester Royal Infirmary

Mr Richard Devereaux-Phillips
Public Affairs Manager, Medtronic Ltd

Dr Rachel A Elliott
Clinical Senior Lecturer, University of Manchester

Mrs Eleanor Grey
Lay Member

Dr Dyfrig Hughes
Senior Research Fellow in Pharmacoeconomics, Centre for the Economics of Health and Policy in Health, University of Wales, Bangor

Dr Catherine Jackson
Clinical Lecturer in Primary Care Medicine, Alyth Health Centre

Dr Peter Jackson
Clinical Pharmacologist, University of Sheffield

Professor Peter Jones
Professor of Statistics and Dean Faculty of Natural Sciences, Keele University

Ms Rachel Lewis
Nurse Advisor to the Department of Health

Dr Damien Longson
Consultant in Liaison Psychiatry, North Manchester General Hospital

Professor Jonathan Michaels
Professor of Vascular Surgery, University of Sheffield

Dr Eugene Milne
Deputy Medical Director, North East Strategic Health Authority

Dr Simon Mitchell
Consultant Neonatal Paediatrician, St Mary's Hospital, Manchester

Dr Martin J Price
Head of Outcomes Research, Janssen-Cilag Ltd

Mr Miles Scott
Chief Executive, Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Mark Sculpher
Professor of Health Economics, University of York

Professor Andrew Stevens
Chair of Appraisal Committee C

Dr Cathryn Patricia Thomas
Senior Lecturer, Department of Primary Care & General Practice

B. NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Helen Tucker
Technical Lead

Louise Longworth
Technical Adviser

Chris Feinmann
Project Manager