Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members, and NICE project team

Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members, and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets three times a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into three branches, each with a chair and vice-chair. Each branch considers its own list of technologies and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Jane Adam
Radiologist, St George's Hospital, London

Professor AE Ades
Professor of Public Health Science, Department of Community Based Medicine, University of Bristol

Dr Amanda Adler
Consultant Physician, Cambridge University Hospitals Trust

Dr Tom Aslan
General Practitioner, London

Professor David Barnett (Chair)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, Leicester Royal Infirmary

Mrs Elizabeth Brain
Lay member

Dr Matt Bradley
Head of HTA and Business Development, Sanofi-aventis UK

Dr Robin Carlisle
Deputy Director of Public Health, Rotherham Primary Care Trust

Dr Karl Claxton
Professor of Health Economics, Department of Economics and Related Research, University of York

Dr Simon Dixon
Reader in Health Economics, University of Sheffield

Mrs Fiona Duncan
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Anaesthetic Department, Blackpool Victoria Hospital, Blackpool

Dr Paul Ewings
Statistician, Taunton and Somerset NHS Trust, Taunton

Professor John Geddes
Professor of Epidemiological Psychiatry, University of Oxford

Mr John Goulston
Chief Executive, Barking, Havering and Redbridge Hospitals NHS Trust

Mr Adrian Griffin
VP Strategic Affairs, LifeScan, Johnson and Johnson

Dr Richard Harling
Director of Public Health, Worcestershire Primary Care Trust and Worcestershire County Council.

Professor Philip Home (Vice-Chair)
Professor of Diabetes Medicine, Newcastle University

Dr Terry John
General Practitioner, London

Dr Vincent Kirkbride
Consultant Neonatologist, Regional Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, Sheffield

Dr Simon Maxwell
Senior Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacology and Honorary Consultant Physician, Queen's Medical Research Institute, University of Edinburgh

Dr Alec Miners
Lecturer in Health Economics, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Dr Ann Richardson
Lay member

Mrs Angela Schofield
Chairman, Bournemouth and Poole Teaching Primary Care Trust

Mr Mike Spencer
General Manager, Facilities and Clinical Support Services, Cardiff and Vale NHS Trust

Dr William Turner
Consultant Urologist, Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr Simon Thomas
Consultant Physician and Reader in Therapeutics, Newcastle Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and Newcastle University

Mr David Thomson
Lay member

Dr Luke Twelves
General Practitioner, Cambridgeshire

Dr Norman Vetter
Reader, Department of Primary Care and Public Health, School of Medicine, University of Cardiff

Dr Paul Watson
Director of Commissioning, East of England Strategic Health Authority

B NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Rebecca Trowman
Technical Lead

Helen Chung
Technical Adviser

Eloise Saile
Project Manager (until September 2008)

Bijal Chandarana
Project Manager (from September 2008)

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)