Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are four Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Jane Adam (Chair – from September 2009)
Department of Diagnostic Radiology, St George's Hospital

Professor A E Ades
Professor of Public Health Science, Department of Community Based Medicine, University of Bristol

Dr Amanda Adler
Consultant Physician, Cambridge University Hospitals Trust

Dr Tom Aslan
General Practitioner, The Hampstead Group Practice, London

Professor David Barnett (Chair – until September 2009)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dr Matt Bradley
Value Demonstration Director, AstraZeneca

Mrs Elizabeth Brain
Lay Member

Dr Robin Carlisle
Deputy Director of Public Health, Rotherham PCT

Dr Karl Claxton
Professor of Health Economics, Department of Economics & Related Research, the University of York

Dr Fiona Duncan
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Anaesthetic Department, Blackpool Victoria Hospital, Blackpool

Dr Simon Dixon
Reader in Health Economics, University of Sheffield

Mr Christopher Earl
Surgical Care Practitioner, Renal Transplant Unit, Manchester Royal Infirmary

Dr Paul Ewings
Statistician, Taunton & Somerset NHS Trust, Taunton

Professor John Geddes
Professor of Epidemiological Psychiatry, University of Oxford

Mr John Goulston
Chief Executive, Barking, Havering and Redbridge Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Jonathan Grigg
Professor of Paediatric Respiratory and Environmental Medicine, Barts and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry, Queen Mary University London

Dr Richard Harling
Director of Public Health, Worcestershire PCT and Worcestershire County Council

Dr Peter Heywood
Consultant Neurologist, Dept. of Neurology, Frenchay Hospital,

Professor Philip Home (Vice Chair)
Professor of Diabetes Medicine, Newcastle University

Dr Terry John
General Practitioner, The Firs, London

Dr Ian Lewin
Consultant Endocrinologist, North Devon District Hospital

Dr Simon Maxwell
Senior Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacology and Honorary Consultant Physician, Queens Medical Research Institute, University of Edinburgh

Dr Alec Miners
Lecturer in Health Economics, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Dr James Moon
Consultant Cardiologist and Senior Lecturer, University College London Hospital (UCLH) and UCL

Dr Nick Murray
Senior Lecturer and Consultant in Medical Oncology, University of Southampton

Dr David Newsham
Lecturer (Orthoptics), University of Liverpool

Dr Ann Richardson
Lay Member

Mrs Angela Schofield
Chairman, Bournemouth and Poole Teaching PCT

Mr Mike Spencer
General Manager, Facilities and Clinical Support Services, Cardiff and Vale NHS Trust

Professor Iain Squire
Consultant Physician, University Hospitals of Leicester

Dr Simon Thomas
Consultant Physician and Reader in Therapeutics, Newcastle Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and Newcastle University

Mr David Thomson
Lay Member

Dr William Turner
Consultant Urologist, Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr Norman Vetter
Reader, Department of Primary Care and Public Health, School of Medicine, University of Cardiff

Dr Paul Watson
Director of Commissioning, East of England Strategic Health Authority

Dr John Watkins
Clinical Senior Lecturer and Consultant in Public Health Medicine, Cardiff University and National Public Health Service Wales

Dr Anthony S Wierzbicki
Consultant in Metabolic Medicine and Chemical Pathology, Guy's and St Thomas' Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr Olivia Wu
Reader in Health Economics, University of Glasgow

B NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Prashanth Kandaswamy
Technical Lead (until May 2009)

Fiona Rinaldi
Technical Lead (from June 2009)

Jennifer Priaulx
Technical Lead (from October 2009)

Janet Robertson
Technical Adviser (until August 2009)

Bhash Naidoo
Technical Adviser (from August 2009)

Fiona Rinaldi
Technical Advisor (from November 2009)

Eloise Saile
Project Manager (until September 2008)

Bijal Joshi
Project Manager (from September 2008)