Appendix B: Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

Appendix B: Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The assessment report for this appraisal was prepared by:

CRD/CHE Technology Assessment Group (Centre for Reviews and Dissemination/Centre for Health Economics), University of York

  • Rodgers M, Research, Epstein D, et al. Etanercept, Infliximab and adalimumab for the treatment of psoriatic arthritis (November 2009)

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, assessment report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I, II and III were also invited to make written submissions and have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I) Manufacturers/sponsors:

  • Abbott Laboratories

  • Schering-Plough

  • Wyeth Pharmaceuticals

II) Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • Arthritis & Musculoskeletal Alliance

  • Arthritis Care

  • British Dermatological Nursing Group

  • British Association of Dermatologists

  • British Society for Rheumatology

  • Primary Care Dermatology Society

  • Primary Care Rheumatology Society

  • Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis Alliance

  • Royal College of Physicians

  • Skin Care Campaign

III) Other consultees:

  • Hull Primary Care Trust

IV) Commentator organisations (without the right of appeal):

  • Cochrane Skin Group – Centre of Evidence-based Dermatology

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Pfizer

  • Sanofi-Aventis

  • Schering Plough

  • Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network

  • Wyeth Pharmaceuticals

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient expert nominations from the non-manufacturer/sponsor consultees and commentators. They participated in the Appraisal Committee discussions and provided evidence to inform the Appraisal Committee's deliberations. They gave their expert personal view on etanercept, infliximab and adalimumab for the treatment of psoriatic arthritis by attending the initial Committee discussion and/or providing written evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Dr Philip Helliwell, Senior Lecturer in Rheumatology, nominated by the British Society for Rheumatology – clinical specialist

  • Dr Eleanor Korendowych, Consultant Rheumatologist and Honorary Senior Lecturer – clinical specialist

  • Professor Alex Anstey, Consultant Dermatologist/Professor, nominated by the British Association for Dermatologists.

  • Denise Morris, nominated by the Psoriatic and Psoriatic Arthritis Alliance – patient expert.

D. Representatives from the following manufacturers/sponsors attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • Abbott Laboratories

  • Schering Plough

  • Wyeth Pharmaceuticals

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)